Breakfast · Favorite Recipes · Healthy/Clean · Paleo

Apple Cinnamon Raisin Nut Porridge

I have been craving oatmeal for a while. I have been done with Whole30 for a few weeks now but have been putting off reintroduction. I have been scared, especially of grains and so I haven’t been in a hurry. Also with the summer holidays and camping, I haven’t wanted to be sick while not at home. So… I found this recipe on Pinterest and I thought that I had to give it a try.

Honestly opinion, it was not bad. It is definitely not oatmeal though. It’s a pretty good substitute so if you are grain free or want to try grain free options, I would give this a try.

I also found out that I am allergic to coconut. The original recipe calls for coconut flakes and coconut milk. So if you want to use them, please feel free to and refer to the original recipe which is linked at the bottom of the post. Otherwise, enjoy my changes!

By the way, this was the first time I’ve tried cashew milk and it kind of reminds me of chocolate milk. 😉

Ingredients
1/2 cup Whole Raw Almonds
1/2 cup Whole Raw Cashew
1/4 cup Raw Walnuts
1 large Ripe Banana, sliced
1 egg yolk
1 tbsp Clarified Butter
1 medium Apple, chopped into bite-size pieces
Nutmeg, a few dashes
1 3/4 cups Cashew Milk
2 tsp Vanilla Extract
2 tsp ground Cinnamon
1/2 cup Raisins

Directions
Place the nuts in a medium bowl and add enough water to the bowl to completely cover the nuts.
Add a pinch of salt and cover the bowl with a kitchen towel and allow the nuts to soak for 7-8 hours or over night.
Once soaking time is done, drain the nuts in a colander and rinse until water runs clear.
Add the nuts to the bowl of a food process, then add the egg yolk and the banana.
Pulse the nuts and banana mixture until it form a fine nut meal, making sure to stop and scrape down the bowl as needed for an even texture.
Remove the bowl from the food processor and set aside.
Add the clarified butter, apple, and nutmeg to a saucepan over medium heat and saute until the apples begin to soften.
Add the cashew milk, vanilla, cinnamon, raisins, nut mixture, and stir well the thoroughly combine.
Bring the porridge to a gentle simmer and cook for about 5-6 minutes until its thick and creamy.
Ladle into bowls and top with your favorite milk and more fruits if desired.
Enjoy!

{Source}

 

Leave a Reply

