Chicken · Favorite Recipes · Healthy/Clean · Slow Cooker · Whole30

Slow Cooker Whole Chicken

I have never cooked a small whole chicken before. But in doing Whole30, I have realized that rotisserie chickens are not Whole30 compliant. At least not the ones from Walmart. So after finding a recipe in The Whole30 Cookbook I decided to give it a try.

With Whole30, the stress getting enough protein to help you stay full as well as all the veggies and fruit. I have always struggled getting enough protein in so have a rotisserie chicken all cut up in my fridge makes it easy to give a few pieces of pre-cut chicken and add some fruit or veggies for a snack or a meal on the go.

I must not have cooked my chicken long enough enough those my thermometer said I did, because the drum sticks were still pink. Everything else was good though. And for me, the flavor was lacking. I’m used to the rotisserie chickens though so it may be a little taste bud change I need to make. But not having too much flavor means that you can do sooooo much more with it. Like add it to whatever flavor salad you want, or make chicken salad, or add some salsa and make chicken tacos. The options are endless. So give it a try and I’d love to hear what you do with it.

Ingredients
1 Whole Chicken (3-3.5 lbs)
1 tbsp EVOO
S&P
Onion Powder
Garlic Powder

Directions
Get out your 5-6 qt slow cooker and place 5-6 foil balls in the bottom.
Clean your chicken by removing the giblets and rinsing with cool water.
Drizzle the chicken with EVOO and rub all over the skin.
Season with S&P, onion & garlic powder all over including inside the cavity.
Set the chicken on top of the foil balls in the slow cooker adjusting as needed to support the chicken and keep it above the cooking juices that will accumulate.
Cover and cook on HIGH for 3-4 hours or until juices run clear and thermometer reads 180*F in the thickest part of the thigh.
Remove chicken from slow cooker and place on large platter and let cool completely.
Remove the meat from the boys and use forks to shred.
Enjoy!

{Source: The Whole30 Cookbook}

Leave a Reply

