Favorite Recipes · Healthy/Clean · Whole30

Turkey Meatballs

Happy Memorial day My Beauties! I hope that you enjoy a wonderful day with friends and family!  ❤


This was the first recipe that I made was Whole30 compliant. I was scared! First, I have never cooked anything but red meat and chicken (The Hubs made our Thanksgiving turkey) and second, it was ground turkey which again, the only thing ground I have cooked with is beef/elk/deer.

That being said, since it was my first time, I think I might have over cooked the turkey meatballs. They seemed a bit dry to me. But maybe that’s just how ground turkey is? The flavor was good though! My whole family loved it. That Hubs was surprised at how much flavor there was and both kids ate it with no complaints!!

What do you eat with Turkey Meatballs? Well, I was roasting spaghetti squash but it wasn’t ready by the time we ate, so I kept roasting it for left overs. You could also make zoodles and then top everything with a Tomato Sauce that is also Whole30 compliant that I will be posting about in a few days.

I was seriously in shock with the all the flavor!!

For the next several weeks, I’ll be sharing all the recipes that I make while doing Whole30. I am excited for this new food adventure!

Ingredients
1 lb Ground Turkey/Chicken thigh.
1 large Egg, beaten
1/4 onion, finely chopped
2 cloves Garlic, minced
1 tsp dried Oregano
1 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Pepper
2 tbsp Cooking Fat*

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350*F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
Thoroughly mix together the chicken/turkey, egg, onion, garlic, oregano ,salt, and pepper in a large bow.
Roll into 15-20 meatballs about the size of a golf ball.
Melt the cooking fat in a large skillet over medium-high heat.
When the fat is hot, add the meatballs and cook for about 30 seconds on each side, turning to prevent brown for about 5 minutes.
(depending on the size of your pan you may have to do that part in stages.)
Reduce the heat and ad more cooking fat if the pan beings to smoke.
Transfer the meatballs to the prepped baking sheet and let finish cooking in the oven for 8-10 minutes or internal temp is 160*F.
Let rest for about 5 minutes.
Enjoy

*Cooking fat means clarified butter, EVOO, coconut oil etc that is Whole30 compliant. But you could use cooking spray, canola oil, or regular butter.)

{Source: The Whole30}

Leave a Reply

