Appetizer · Favorite Recipes

Deviled Eggs

Isn’t it weird how some holidays just don’t feel the same unless you have the same foods you’ve had since you were a kid?

We had both families over for Easter and we have about 3 differing diets to work with. So we had an organic, non-GMO, no nitrate ham, a kale salad, roasted broccoli with carmelized onions, store bought rolls (less stress right?) and these deviled eggs. Not everyone was able to eat everything but we had at least 2 things each person could eat. But for me, I had to have the deviled eggs.

I looked up recipes and saw that most of them used vinegar of some variety and I never remembered vinegar being in the recipe when I would watch my dad. We always used sweet pickle juice. So I texted my dad what I remember he used and he confirmed that I was on track.

This is not an actual recipe but more of a check list to help you make it. You just need a little bit of this and a little bit of that and then taste and adjust. I’m not a fan of this kind of cooking/baking but when it’s successful, I feel like a champ. This time, I was definitely successful! It tasted like childhood!!

Ingredients
Hard Boiled Eggs, 2 eggs for each person
Mayo
Mustard
Sweet Pickle Juice
S&P
Paprika

Directions
Places eggs in a pan and cover with water.
Place on stove top and turn burner no to medium-high.
Once boiling set the timer for about 10 minutes.
When time goes off, rinse the eggs in cold water for a few minutes to stop the cooking.
Put in the fridge to continue to cool and keep cold till ready to make the egg mash.
Peel the shell away from the egg.
Using a pairing knife, cut the eggs in half length wise and scoop the yolk into a medium bowl.
Add a spoon full of mayo, a small squeeze of mustard, and little pickle juice, S&P, and mash and mix.
Add more of each and adjust until desire consistency and flavor.
Use a small spoon and scoop the egg mash into the whites of the egg.
Sprinkle a little paprika on top and place in the fridge until ready to serve.
Enjoy!

{Source: My Brain}

Leave a Reply

