Bread · Favorite Recipes

Lemon Muffins with Lemon Glaze

Oh my goodness!! These are delicious!

I asked the youth what they wanted me to bake for Easter Sunday. Two of them requested cake and another one asked for Lemon Poppy Seed muffins. So I decided to do the lemon muffins since muffins are kind of cake like appeasing all the requests. Well, sad to say, our grocery budget was tight so instead of buying the box mix, I found a recipe for Lemon Muffins in my World Wide Ward Cookbook and thought I’d give it a try.

I was pleasantly surprised with how well they turned out. And when the youth took their first bites, there were exclamations of “these are soooo good”. 🙂  I love cooking for people. It makes my heart happy!

Ingredients
1/4 cup Butter, softened
1/2 cup Sugar
1 tbsp Lemon Juice
1 Egg
3/4 cups + 1 tbsp Flour
3/4 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 cup Milk
1/2 tsp Lemon Zest, grated

Syrup
2 tbsp Lemon Juice
1/4 cup Sugar

Directions
Muffins
In a medium bowl, cream together butter, sugar, lemon juice, and egg.
Sift together dry ingredients.
Alternately add dry ingredients and milk to make a thick batter.
Stir in lemon zest.
Spoon into paper-lined muffin tins or loaf pan.
Bake muffins at 350*F for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.
Bake loaf at 325*F for about 30 minutes.
Just before the muffins or bread come out of the oven, combine syrup ingredients in medium sauce pan.

Syrup
Combine and heat just until sugar is dissolved.
Prick small holes in top of baked bread or muffins with toothpick, then gently pour lemon syrup into holes.
Cool.
Makes 12 muffins or 1 loaf.

Note: When I made the muffins I didn’t quite get 12, I got about 10. So I ended doing another batch but double it so I had enough for the youth to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

