Spiritual Thoughts

I Believe & I Know

I always have the best of intentions each week to get a post written and scheduled so that I’m not rushing to write something in the morning on Sundays or feel guilty for not getting something written by the evening. But I do I also like to sit in church and let the spirit direct my thoughts and write about what I felt during church. So… I guess what I’m saying, is that even though I don’t have consistent posts each Sunday morning, at least I’m consistently inconsistent! Ha!

Today must have been one of those days where I was meant to write about what I felt during church because it was beautiful. I had thought a few times this week about getting something written, but it just never happened. Guess it wasn’t meant to be.

Today’s lesson came from last Octobers’s General Conference. Fourth Sundays are always my favorite Sundays! I love conference talks! The talk was To Whom Shall We Go? by M. Russell Ballard.

I love how our teacher presented it. I wish you could have all been sitting with my in Relief Society as lessons was present. You could definitely feel the spirit!

I don’t know about you, but there have been times in my life where I haven’t felt 100% spiritually firm. I have always had a testimony. I have always gone to church because I know that’s where I belong. But I haven’t always wanted to. I haven’t always been strong. I haven’t always felt like I belonged. This talk starts off with Elder Ballard talking about Jesus’ disciples.

One of the most heart-wrenching stories in scripture occurred when “many of [the Lord’s] disciples” found it hard to accept His teachings and doctrine, and they “went back, and walked no more with him.2

As these disciples left, Jesus turned to the Twelve and asked, “Will ye also go away?”3

Peter responded:

“Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life.

“And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.”4

In that moment, when others focused on what they could not accept, the Apostles chose to focus on what they did believe and know, and as a result, they remained with Christ.

I love the part where Elder Ballard says the apostles chose to focus on what they did believe and know so they remained with Christ. I have always knows. Because of things people have said to me, or how I not felt included in church at times, I could have left. But I chose to focus on what I did believe and what I knew and do what I knew to right and keep attending church even though at times it was harder then getting up in the morning.

But my most favorite quote is this….

It is a natural and normal thing to occasionally pause on the path to catch our breath, to recalculate our bearings and to reconsider our pace. … In fact, it can be a positive thing for those who take full advantage of the opportunity to refresh themselves with the living water of the gospel of Christ.

I love that. I love that so much. When we read that part of the talk in our lesson, it was like a warm embrace from the Savior saying that during my not so strong periods in my life, it was okay. It was okay for me to take a breather on this path of life and not be running full speed ahead. We just need to remember to not leave the path. Leaving the path is when bad things start to happen.

So My Beauties, I want you to know, that if you aren’t feeling it, if you are struggling with your testimony, if you are struggling with feeling like you belong, if you just aren’t feeling 100% whole, it’s okay!! It’s ok to pause on the path and catch our breath. Take the time to breathe. Then make the time to rebuild that foundation so you can press forward. Pray for guidance and you will receive promptings on how to continue. I know it, because that’s what happened to me.

Christ won’t ever leave you behind. He will wait for you to be ready to continue on your path. You just have to ask for the help to get back up on your feet and get moving.

I love you! I hope that you’ve had a beautiful Sabbath Day!

Leave a Reply

