Breakfast · Cookies · Favorite Recipes

Oatmeal Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookies

I am on the hunt for healthy breakfast ides. I usually have eggs for breakfast or when I’m running late I’ll have a semi healthy cereal or parfait. But sometimes I just want something else. So I gave these breakfast cookies a try.

Honest opinion? I won’t be making them again. This is basically the healthiest recipe I have every made. It’s not that it was hard or took to long to make. It was just too healthy. I’m not ready for this stage of healthy if that makes sense. It took a few bites for my taste buds to adjust and the texture was different. I still recommend trying it. You might very well like it. It’s just not for me and my family at this stage of our healthy journey.

That being said, here is the recipe. What do you think?

Ingredients
2 1/4 cups Old-Fashioned Oats
1 cup Oat Flour or Whole-Wheat Flour
1/2 cup ground Flaxseed
2 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Nutmeg
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1 cup Unsweetened Applesauce
1/2 cup Honey or Pure Maple Syrup
1 large Egg
2 tsp Vanilla Extract
4 tbsp Butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 cup grated Carrot
1 cup finely chopped or grated Apple

Directions
Preheat oven to 350*F.
Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
In a large bow, stir together oats, flour, flaxseed, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt.
In a medium bowl or liquid measuring cup, whisk together honey, applesauce, egg, and vanilla.
Mix in the melted butter.
Pour wet ingredients into the dry and stir until just combined.
Gently fold in the grated carrot and apple
Use a large scoop or measuring cup to drop 1/4 cup portions of dough onto the parchment paper.
Using your fingers, gently flatten and shape the cooke as they won’t flatten during baking.
Bake for 14-15 minutes, until set and lightly golden.
Let cool on then taking sheet for a few minutes before removing to a wire rack to to cool completely.
Cokes can be bored in an airtight container in the freezer for up to 2 months.

{Source}

Leave a Reply

