Tune In Moments

You Are Stronger Than You Know

Do you have a favorite TV series that you could watch over and over? Maybe not right away, but you’ve watched the series twice and could watch it again?

There are two TV series that I enjoy like that. The first, is Gilmore Girls. I watched it on Netflix a few years ago and then rewatched the whole thing before the new season came out. The second, is Army Wives. I watched it a few years ago during hunting season when The Hubs was gone a lot and busy with work and it helped me feel strong. If those wives could go through a deployment with next to no contact from their husbands, I could go through my days and be strong because at least mine was home and safe and was sleeping in my bed at night.

Both TV series have helped me to realize that I am a strong woman. That it’s okay to struggle and be sad, but that you can do anything when you put your mind to it and push forward.

This past fall was 7 years of hunting seasons and the last two hunting seasons he has been gone for longer stretches than he ever has been. The fall I was pregnant with Sweet Pea (2016), he was gone for 12 days. In our whole married lives we have never been apart that long. It was really hard. Especially on my pregnant hormones and my little 2 year old that didn’t quite understand why daddy wasn’t coming home. We ended driving two hours to my parents house after he had been gone for 4 or 5 days and spent the remainder of the time with them.

This past fall (2017), The Hubs was supposed to be gone for another 12-14 trip. We had just moved into our new house and 2 days later he was gone. I pretty much unpacked the whole house by myself and had to reestablish a new routine with my 3 year old and 9 month old so that I wasn’t running myself crazy. Instead of being gone for 14 days straight, he came home 1 or 2 times in-between which was so helpful. I was prepared to make it through is long trip, but I was still stressed because my postpartum hormones were still going haywire. The Hubs was in tune enough with me to realize to that I needed help. So when the elk were sparse, he came home. Then a day or two later he would go back out.

My point of telling you all of this… 2017 has felt like nothing but busy days where I feel more often than not like a single mom. I have a lot of respect and admiration for single mom’s out there. I don’t know how they do the mom thing and the job thing. There are days that I feel like I’m barely making it through and I don’t have the job thing to worry about. The Hubs has been so busy with work and church responsibilities and we talk about how I feel often. He hates that I feel like a single mom a lot. He hates how much he is away from home. We keep hoping that things will slow down in a month or two – and it keeps getting extended another month or two 😉 – but it doesn’t seem to be.

So in looking for something to keep my mind busy while he is gone and to help me feel like the strong woman I know I am, I have been rewatching Army Wives. I have been enjoying the friendships of those women and as odd as it sounds, I can feel their friendship and love. I feel like they are telling me that I can be strong too. That this busy season won’t last forever and to do my best to make the best of it.

So I wanted to tell you something. If you are feeling alone, you’re not. If you are feeling weak, you’re not. If you are feeling like you can’t go on another day, you can! Because I’m here. Because your Savior is here. Find something to help uplift you. Whether it’s a TV show, a good book, the scriptures, a podcast, or friends. Surround yourself with things that help you feel strong and you can make it through.

The Hubs and I have our bimonthly dates. And in the evenings, we snuggle together on the couch and watch something, or talk. We are in tune with each others needs and we do the best that we can to fill those needs no matter how busy we are.

I love you. The Lord loves you. Stay strong and keep pushing forward.

 

{{Need someone to talk to? I’m only and email away! <3}}

 

4 thoughts on “You Are Stronger Than You Know

  1. I love, love ❤️ this post and I think you are spot on!! There is a lot of good that comes from “knowing” we are strong women BEFORE we are called on to “prove” that we can do hard things. I was a Navy wife during the era before cell phones and instant communication. My Hubs was never lost at sea, but I often had no idea where he was. Communication was thru snail mail…but when times were difficult or weather was impossible, the mail flights were few and far between. I giggle when someone mentions Skyping with their Hubs in Iraq. What I wouldn’t have given!!

    But we aren’t alone…ever! We aren’t the little mommy burying our loved one on the prairie…tho sometimes it’s pretty darn close! We have our Savior, we have each other, and strangely enough we have our Heavenly Father’s hand…the ONE that knows our individual plan by heart ❤️ and is counting on our success!

    Thanks for being there for those of us in need! The service you share is most valuable. You are the perpetuator and champion for strong 💪 women…spirituality and physically. Thanks soooo much for being YOU!! Our creator is extremely pleased with YOU!

    xoxox 💕💕

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

