Tune In Moments

Don’t Forget To Pray

This month has been really hard on me. There is nothing more frustrating than being sick and having a reaction to something you can’t figure out.

I think it was about 2 weeks into February when I started getting sick. I started gaining weight, feeling bloated all the time, and itching. Nothing I was doing seemed to be helping at all. I was angry, emotional, and exhausted. I was full of a lot of self doubt in all aspects. I just wanted to figure out what was going on.

A few weeks later things still weren’t getting any better. In fact, they were getting worse. So all of the before mentioned emotions were getting worse. There is nothing worse than a constantly irritable mom! So I started praying about it. I don’t know why we don’t just start with that. Maybe because it’s kind of embarrassing? Maybe because it seems so simple that we should be able to figure it out on our own? We don’t have insurance so I was trying my hardest to avoid going to the doctor. I don’t care for them any way. (Long story short, it took them 6 months to figure out my gall bladder wasn’t working!! Most painful 6 months ever! So I don’t have much confidence in them.)

So one night, after about a week of praying, I was laying in bed and it hit me. About a week and a half ago, I randomly decided to look at the ingredients in my new multivitamin gummy I was eating. One of the ingredients is coconut oil. Now, topically, I can’t do coconut. When it’s in makeup my face swells and itches and I get hives. It takes several days to go down. (Which now that coconut is in just about everything now, it makes makeup wearing difficult.) So when I read that, I thought ‘huh, I don’t appear to be having any reaction to it. It must just be a topical thing. Applied to the skin I have problems, but ingested is ok.’ and I went about my morning. So while I’m laying in bed, a voice in my head said, ‘it’s the vitamins.’ Thank goodness I had stopped eating them a few days before. I was so sick to my stomach that I was seriously eating the bare minimum. So I thought, a few more days. I can do a few more days and give my system a chance to finish clearing out the coconut oil. If my issues don’t clear up after another week, to the doctor I will go. Well, I’m in the clear. The bloating is mostly gone, the stomaches are mostly gone, and the itching is mostly gone!!!!

The frustrating thing, I could have ended all of this about 2-3 weeks ago when I read those ingredients. I wasn’t very in tune with myself. I wish there was a way that our bodies could actually say to us, ‘I don’t like this. I’m feeling sick and this is why.’ It would make life so much easier!!!

However, despite the fact that I wasn’t physically in tune with myself, I’m just grateful that I’m spiritual in tune enough to remember to pray and ask for help, and then to be still and listen for an answer.

Heavenly Father has sure been helping me out this past month despite it taking so long for me to ask for help. Once I finally did, and put my faith in Him, He delivered. Don’t forget to pray!

3 thoughts on “Don’t Forget To Pray

Leave a Reply

