Dessert · Favorite Recipes

Snickerdoodle Cheese Cake Bars

I am so excited to introduce you to The Pie Guy, aka my not-so-little brother. He started experimenting with pies and desserts while he was on a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Now that he is home he gets to experiment even more. I am way excited that he has his own blog and that I now have someone to talk food with you loves learning about it as much as I do. 🙂

I personally have not tried this dessert, but then again, I don’t bake many desserts because I won’t to eat them all! 😉 So The Pie Guy may be a dessert guy!! So without further ado, here is one of the first desserts he made after coming home from his mission.

Ingredients
Cheesecake
2 blocks cream cheese, softened
1/2 c. sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
pinch of kosher salt

Snickerdoodle
2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, melted
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
cinnamon sugar, for sprinkling

In my typical fashion I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, mostly out of impatience to try what seemed like a literal piece of heaven but considering they turn out super well.

So for each part of the recipe you’ll want to use a different bowl for convenience. You’ll want to start with the softened cream cheese and the sugar and get those nice and combined before adding the eggs and vanilla. I don’t know why but it all seems to turn out better in the end. BTW, the salt is important, this dessert is super rich so even a little salt off sets it a little and even gives you a better flavor

For the snickerdoodle part start with two medium sized bowls and combine flour, salt, and baking SODA together and set aside. I almost made the mistake of using baking powder, thank goodness for double checks. In the second bowl combine butter (salted is just fine, I don’t understand why they prefer unsalted), both kinds of sugar first to make a past. [Side note: as I was making this part I noticed exactly what I was doing, literally mixing butter and sugar together. Two of my family’s favorite things when I was a child. Mom was famous for her love for butter which she passed down to us.] Anyway, once the butter and sugar are mixed go ahead and add the eggs, and vanilla. When I was going through the rest of the directions I couldn’t find any use for the plain ground cinnamon. I mean it could be used for the cinnamon sugar mix but I feel like you will need more that 1 ½ tsp………

Ok now that you have the cheesecake part and the snickerdoodle part, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and pull out a 9×13 glass pan. I prefer Pyrex if available. I have no idea what would happen if you used a metal pan, try it if you like. Don’t forget to grease the pan with spray or veggie oil of butter BEFORE you start putting stuff in it. It can get awkward later if you don’t. Now take 2/3 of the snickerdoodle dough and press it into the bottom of the 9×13 pan, if you need a little bit more, don’t feel like you must be constrained. Once the dough is pressed into the bottom, sprinkle a little cinnamon sugar (to your liking) over it then pour all the cheese cake mixture over the dough. Next, crumble remaining dough over the top. Sprinkle a little more cinnamon sugar over the top and put it into the oven for 35-40 minutes. I found 35 minutes worked just perfect for me as it firmed up the outsides while leaving the center slightly jiggly. Once the 35-40 minutes are up, take it out and let it cool!

Now, It time to go to heaven as you take your first bite!!! Pair it with a glass of cold milk and have your worries melt away!

Suggestion: I have been thinking about how to modify or improve this recipe since I made it, so here is an idea. Augment your cinnamon sugar mix into a streusel! (go easy on the butter to keep it a little dryer.) Let me know your thoughts and how it turned out for you!

{Source}

Leave a Reply

