Favorite Recipes

The Doctrine of Christ

If someone where to walk up to you right now and ask… “What is the doctrine of Christ?”… Would you be able to answer them?

Honestly, I wouldn’t have had any idea on how to answer that questions until studying my lesson for this week. Doctrine to me is a big and intimidating word. Even now I’m still not sure I fully understand what doctrine means but I do know how to answer the question.

There are several different places you can learn about the doctrine of christ. There is…

The Fourth Article of Faith:

We believe that the first principles and ordinances of the gospel are; first, Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ; second, Repentance; third, Baptism by immersion for the remission of sins; fourth, Laying on of hands for the gift of the Holy Ghost.

2 Nephi 25:26

And we talk of Christ, we rejoice in Christ, we preach of Christ, we prophesy of Christ, and we write according to our prophecies, that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins.

2 Nephi 31: The whole chapter is Nephi explaining the doctrine of Christ. I personally get lost in some of the language, but when you pay attention, you can definitely pick out the specifics.

My two favorite sections come directly from Christ himself. They are in 3 Nephi 11: 32-41 and 27:13-21. Very straight forward and to the point.

I like how each of these places takes you a little deeper into knowing more about the doctrine of Christ. The fourth article of faith is great of primary age children and those who are outside of or are new to the church. But as you get into 3 Nephi, I don’t know, I feel like I’m sitting right at the Saviors feel and really learning about His church from Him!! It’s really cool.

I am so grateful for the this gospel and that as long as we follow the 5 points of the Doctrine — faith in the Lord Jesus Christ, repentance, baptism by immersion, laying on of hands, endure to the end — everything will always work out and be ok!!

Have a beautiful sabbath day!! ❤️ 

Leave a Reply

