Favorite Recipes

Feeling The Spirit Through Hymns 

I will get back on track with my Sunday Inspiration posts. Better late than never right?

This week we talked about how to use the hymn book and hymns to help us learn about the plan of salvation. But this can apply to any topic. I particularly liked this lesson because I’m the music chairman and choir director in my ward 😉. 

There is nothing more beautiful and wonderful than feeling the spirit through music. I can remember specific points in my life where specific hymns have spoken directly to my heart and spirit. Where I have felt so much comfort and have know that Heavenly Father was aware of me and what I was going through. 

When we study and learn the hymns the way we study and learn the scriptures, we can feel the same amount of comfort and direction. The Holy Ghost can use those songs to guide, comfort, and direct. 

Last year, after having Sweet Pea, I was having a particularly rough day. As I was driving home from the grocery story I prayed for comfort. As soon as I ended my prayer, the song I Will Follow God’s Plan popped into my head. 

My life is a gift; my life has a plan.

My life has a purpose; in heav’n it began.

My choice was to come to this lovely home on earth

And seek for God’s light to direct me from birth.

I will follow God’s plan for me,

Holding fast to his word and his love.

I will work, and I will pray;

I will always walk in his way.

Then I will be happy on earth

And in my home above.

This simple primary song brought me so much comfort and it still does to this day. It reminds me that Heavenly Father has a plan for me and all I have to do is work and pray and walk in his way. So regardless of how hard of a day I’m having, it won’t last for long. 

Other hymns such as Abide With Me ‘Tis Eventide, I Love To See The Temple, and A Child’s Prayer have strengthened my testimony and reminded me that Heavenly Father is aware of me. 

Take the time to open the back of the hymn book and look at the topic index and see what’s there. The hymn book is a great resource to help you with lessons, talks, or sharing your testimony with friends and family. 

We hope to see an increase of hymn singing in our congregations. We encourage all members, whether musically inclined or not, to join with us in singing the hymns. We hope leaders, teachers, and members who are called upon to speak will turn often to the hymnbook to find sermons presented powerfully and beautiful in verse. 

— First Presidencg Preface, Hymnbook 

You can truly feel the love of our Father in Hymn when you take the chance to open your heart and mind to the whispers of the spirit through music! 

Leave a Reply

