Favorite Recipes · Healthy/Clean · Pizza · Vegetables

Cauliflower Pizza

I got curious. I have been curious for a while. My parents don’t do breads. My dad said that he had made some cauliflower pizza and that it was really good. I happened to be over there one evening when he made cauliflower nachos and that was pretty good. He has even made cauliflower lasagna which I really liked (guess there are two more recipes I should try myself). Then a friend of mine sent me this recipe for cauliflower pizza so I finally decided it was time to give it a try.

Let me start of by saying that it actually tasted pretty good!! I was pleasantly surprised. Let me remind you that it’s not bread so it’s not going to taste like bread. So when you taste it, just remind yourself that it’s not actual pizza. It took me a bite or two to adjust. Little Man said it was making him nervous. That means he didn’t really like it. He ate half of it and I let him eat cereal. Sweet Pea on the other hand wen to town and had 2 slices. I also had two slices. I would have had more but I was saving some for The Hubs who wasn’t home yet. When he got home, he said he just could do it. He took one bite, said it tasted good, but you can’t hold it like a regular slice of pizza so it wasn’t for him. Maybe I used too much sauce, maybe I didn’t cook the crust long enough, I don’t know. We had to eat ours with a fork.

I would probably not make it again. Why? Half of my family didn’t like. It wasn’t even close to being filling for me. I think it would make a great appetizer. Maybe double the cauliflower? But cauliflower pizza isn’t for my family and that is ok. Maybe it will be for you. The taste was great!! But the effort is not worth it for me when half of my family won’t eat it.

Please don’t be afraid to try it. I wanted to be honest with my review because I was nervous myself about making it. It tasted great! Just not for us!! So here is the recipe. Try it out for yourself and let me know what you think!!

Ingredients
2 1/2 cups or 1 head grated or ground Cauliflower
(use food processor or cheese grater)
1/2 tsp dried Basil
1/2 tsp dried Oregano
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan Cheese
1/4 cup Mozzarella Cheese
Salt
1 Egg, slightly beaten
Favorite Pizza Toppings

Directions
Preheat oven to 425*
Shred or put your cauliflower through the food processor.
Place the cauliflower in a heat-safe bowl and cover with plastic wrap with a few holes to vent.
Microwave for 4 min, remove the plastic, and store to cool it off.
Place the cauliflower in a find mesh strainer or clean tea towel and press out all the liquid.
Place cauliflower in a medium bowl and fluff with a fork.
Add the basil, oregano, garlic, parmesan, and mozzarella.
Mix well and taste, add salt to taste.
Add the slightly beaten egg and store to blend completely.
Press mixture out onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
Press out to about 1/4 inch or slight thicker keeping the mixture tight and in an even layer.
(Bake as one large pizza or a few smaller ones.)
Place crust in the over and bake until golden brown, about 15-20 minutes.
Remove from oven and top with desired toppings and return to oven to melt the cheese.
let rest for a couple minutes and then slice and serve.
Enjoy!

{Source}

Leave a Reply

