Dessert · Favorite Recipes

Pumpkin Spice Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

I made this Pumpkin Spice Cake on a whim for Sweet Pea’s birthday. I wasn’t sure what we should do for her cake. For Little Man’s first birthday I made him fudge brownies and dirt pudding (I think I’ll have to make that for the blog!). I had gummy worms and put the dirt pudding in the back of a dump truck and used lego dump trucks for decoration as well. I went all out!! Well, he didn’t touch it! He didn’t even want to taste it either! So I didn’t want to go all out on her and have the same thing happen. But at the same time, I didn’t want her to have nothing either.

I made Pumpkin Spice Muffins a few weeks ago and she seemed to love those. So I whipped up a small cake for her and a larger cake for the family. She was more excited about everyone singing to her than her cake. I had to help her smash it and then she was frustrated that she was dirty. Just like her brother. So glad I didn’t go crazy.

Any way, here is a semi healthy cake that you don’t have to feel so guilt about.

Ingredients
Cake
1 box Spice Cake mix
1 can Pumpkin (not pie filling)
3 Eggs

Frosting
4 oz Cream Cheese, softened
1/3 cup Butter, softened
2 cups Powdered Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla
1 tbsp Milk

Directions
Preheat oven to 350*.
Grease and four 9×13 baking dish.
In a bowl, mix together the cake mix, pumpkin puree, and eggs until combined.
Spread mixture into baking dish.
Bake for about 30 minutes until cake springs back to the touch and toothpick comes out clean.
Allow to cool completely while making frosting.
In a mixing bowl, blend together cream cheese and butter until smooth.
Add in powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk until smooth.
Adjust powdered sugar and milk until desired consistency.
Once cake has cooled, spread on the frosting.
Serve!

{Source}

Leave a Reply

