Beef/Elk · Favorite Recipes · Italian · Soup

Lasagna Soup

I have been in a soup kick lately and have been having fun. I was so excited that this recipe was actually a soup. My Slow Cooker Tortellini Dump Soup recipe has yet to turn into soup. It’s been more of a casserole. I have made it twice and the second time was a little better. I still have more playing to do. But this one was actually soupy. I just think there needs to be more broth.

When I made this I had defrosted a two pound chunk of beef thinking that I would need to double it when we fed the missionaries. I didn’t think my pan I was using was big enough so I did just the single recipe below. We had just enough for two Sister Missionaries, The Hubs, myself and the kids with enough for one left over lunch. Right after the missionaries left, I promptly made a second batch and froze it. When freezing, prepare the soup itself and make the noodles later.

Ingredients
2 tbsp EVOO, divided
1 lb Ground Beef
1 medium Onion, diced
3-5 Garlic Cloves, minced
4 cups Chicken Broth
1 can (14.5oz) Petite Diced Tomatoes
1 can (14.5oz) Crushed Tomatoes
2 1/2 tbsp Tomato Paste
1 3/4 tsp dried Basil
3/4 tsp dried Oregano
1/2 tsp dried Rosemary, crushed
1/2 tsp dried Thyme
1 tsp Sugar
1 1/2 tbsp chopped fresh Parsley
S&P to taste
8 Lasagna Noodles, broke into bite sized pieces
1 1/4 cup shredded Mozzarella Cheese
1/2 cup finely shredded Parmesan Cheese
8 oz Ricotta Cheese

Directions
Heat one tablespoon olive oil in a cage pot over medium-high heat.
Once hot, add ground beef and season with S&P and stir occasionally until browned.
Drain majority of the fat and set aside.
Heat remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil in large pot and add the chopped onion and saute until it begins to soften, about 3 minutes.
Add in garlic and saute another 30 seconds.
Add in the chicken brother, diced tomatoes, crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, basil, oregano, rosemary, thyme, sugar, parsley, and the cooked beef.
Add more S&P to taste.
Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to medium-low, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
Meanwhile, prepare lasagna noodles according to directions on box and reserve 1 cup paster water before draining.
Add cooked pasta to soup along with the pasta water.
In a mixing bowl, use a fork and combine the mozzarella, parmesan, and ricotta.
Ladle the soup into bowls and dollop with a large scoop of the cheese mixture.
Enjoy!

{Source}

Leave a Reply

