Spiritual Thoughts

The Still Small Voice

After talking about tender mercies last week, did any of you notice or become more of aware of the Lord’s tender mercies in your day? I sure did on Friday morning.

I had had a rather rough day on Thursday and was completely exhausted and worn out. The exhaustion only carried over into Friday. Sweet Pea has been demanding constant attention lately and screaming when she doesn’t get it. After we came home from dropping Little Man off at preschool, she quietly played by herself for over an hour while I got a few things done around the house. It was completely shocked and so grateful. I knew that Heavenly Father was giving me a few moments of reprieve after the day I had had.

This week we are talking more about the Holy Ghost. How it helps us learn and how to better understand how it communicates to us. 3 Nephi 11:3 says:

And it came to pass that while they were thus conversing one with another, they heard a voice as if it came out of heaven; and they cast their eyes round about, for they understood not the voice which they heard; and it was not a harsh voice, neither was it a loud voice; nevertheless, and notwithstanding it being a small voice it did pierce them that did hear to the center, insomuch that there was no part of their frame that it did not cause to quake; yea, it did pierce them to the very soul, and did cause their hearts to burn.
(emphasis added)

The Holy Ghost is not harsh, or loud. It is small, quiet, and pierces the soul causing your heart to burn.

Helen 5:30 says:

And it came to pass when they heard this voice, and beheld that it was not a voice of thunder, neither was it a voice of a great tumultuous noise, but behold, it was a still voice of perfect mildness, as if it had been a whisper, and it did pierce even to the very soul-
(emphasis added)

The Holy Ghost is not a voice of thunder or tumultuous voice. It’s a still voice, a whisper.

The last few months I have had a few promptings from the spirit. I have heard them, but I have ignored them. Other things kept coming up. I kept thinking that I would get to it.

One of those was to was get our 5 gallon tubs of water filled up and into our storage. For a few weeks I’d been having those promptings. Then they started getting stronger and more frequent. One morning, after I showered and The Hubs left for work, Little man comes running into me saying “Mom, the water isn’t working?” Huh? So I tried to turn on the water in his bathroom, then our bathroom. Nothing! We had power, but we had no water. After calling The Hubs and crawling down into our crawl space, our pump to our well had short circuited. We had no running water. Why? Why hadn’t I listened to the gentle promptings to fill up our water tubs?

Thanks to some great friends, we now have all our water tubs filled up and our pump was fixed a few hours later.

The Holy Ghost will never yell. The Holy Ghost will only be gentle and allow you to make the decision to head the promptings or not. It is our choice. After a while of not heeding the promptings, He will back off. He will only come back when you ask and when you act on his guidance.

With my new word of the year of ‘aware’, I am striving to become more aware of the still small voice and to heed the promptings. I never want to be without his guidance.

Leave a Reply

