Spiritual Thoughts

Tender Mercies

I am excited to teach my lesson today. The last few weeks I haven’t felt truly connected to a topic for some reason. Well, I did with my Christmas lesson, but the others, I just haven’t felt as put together and confident about what I was teaching. But today, I am feeling connected.

Q: How would you define a tender mercy?

Most of my lesson is coming from Elder Bednar’s talk ‘The Tender Mercies of the Lord‘. I love how he defines a tender mercy.

…the Lord’s tender mercies are the very personal and individualized blessings, strength, protection, assurances, guidance, loving-kindnesses, consolation, support, and spiritual gifts which we receive from and because of and through the Lord Jesus Christ.

The second half of 2015 and all of 2016 brought us many tender mercies. From a move that helped us save money and pay off a rather significant amount of debt,  to the birth of our daughter at home, to me really learning who I am, to our new house and so much more in between. I have spent the last few weeks reflecting so much on the last year and the Lord really had a hand in our lives more than I have ever noticed before.

All of us are eligible for the Lord’s tender mercies.

God does not have a list of favorites… it is our hearts and our aspirations and our obedience which definitely determine whether we are counted as one of God’s chosen.

We are the ones that determine whether we are worthy to receive them. We need to hold to our work and keep the commandments with all of our heart, might, mind, and strength and then we can “become chosen, and through the Holy Ghost, receive and recognize the tender mercies of the Lord in our daily live.”

I challenge you to strive to become more aware of  your daily actives and as you lay your head down at night, reflect back on the day and see if you can recognize the Lord’s hand in it. I know it will strengthen your testimony that there is a God and that He truly does love each and every one of us.

Leave a Reply

