Bread · Favorite Recipes

Sweet Potato Bread

The other day, The Hubs asked if I would make some Sweet Potato Bread. I thought he was crazy. I didn’t think that I had made it before but he was insistent that I had and that it tasted great. Then he reminded me that I did. A few years ago we gave it a try but I hadn’t saved the recipe. I was so frustrated about it so I went searching on Pinterest.

Did you know, that none of the recipes told you how to prepare the sweet potatoes?! I was in complete shock. It’s a good thing that I new they had to be cooked and mashed because a few years ago, I would have been stumped. So, below I include what I did to prepare the sweet potatoes.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups Sugar
1/2 cup Vegetable Oil
2 Eggs
1 3/4 cup All-Purpose Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/4 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Ground Nutmeg
1/3 cup Water
1 cup cooked/mashed Sweet Potatoes

Directions
Preheat oven to 350*
Cut sweet potatoes in 1″ cubes and steam for about 15 minutes or until soft.
Mash sweet potatoes and set aside.
Mix sugar, oil, and eggs and beat well.
Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a separate bowl.
Alternately combine the dry ingredients and water into the wet ingredients.
Stir in sweet potatoes.
Pour batter into a greased loaf pan.
Back for about 45 min.

Note: The batter for this recipe is surprisingly runny. It’s not like the Banana Bread recipe.

The Banana Bread recipe (with the sweet potato substitute) is on the right and this posts recipe is on the left. It’s interesting to see and taste the differences.

{Source & Source}

Leave a Reply

