Tune In Moments

You Never Know

I had a real eye open experience a little bit ago and I can’t seem to get it out of my head. It has really turned into a ‘tune in moment’ for me as I’ve pondered on this eye opening experience.

I recently found out that there are people in my ward who think I’m stuck up.

I was sitting in a Teacher Council meeting and someone mentioned that there are people in our ward who think others are stuck up. I was nodding my head yes as I was thinking to myself of my own personal experience. As I came back to the conversation, my name was mentioned as well as 1 or 2 others in the room. The person who was bringing this up, continued to explain that he told those individuals that we aren’t stuck up, we are shy. We have a really hard time going out of the way to be friendly. When we are approached it catches us off guard and we stammer or stick to one word or short answers. Which is very much true!! But I was completely taken aback.

All this time, when I was thinking that there were members of my ward who were stuck because when I moved in no one introduced themselves to me, they were thinking I was stuck up because I’m shy. Both sides were judging the other when judging should not have happened.

I read 3 Nephi 27:21-22 this morning….

Verily, verily, I say unto you, this is my gospel; and ye know the things that ye must do in my church; for the works which ye have seen me do that shall ye also do; for that which ye have seen me do even that shall ye do; Therefore, if ye do these things blessed are ye, for ye shall be lifted up at the last day.

When I read for the works which ye have seen me do that shall ye also do had me thinking about He loved everyone. He never judged anyone. He accepted them as who they are and loved them. I imagine that when there was a shy person, He was the one who walked up to them and started the conversation. I imagine that He never left anyone sitting alone. I imagine that he hugged those when he could, smile to everyone he saw, and said hello when the moment permitted.

The last several months I have been working on doing just that, but now that I have had this moment, I will be trying harder. And trying harder is going to be really hard on me. Not only am I shy at first, and struggle with a bit of introvertness, I struggle with an anxiety disorder. So social situations leave me feeling completely exhausted. So when I come home from church too exhausted to eat and speak, then I know I have done a pretty good job at being more like Christ and going out of my way to love others as He loves them. That I’ve talked to, or sat by, or smiled at everyone that I noticed.

Can I ask that we judge less and love more? Can I ask that we look around each Sunday and find at least one person (if not more) and sit by them, compliment them, or smile at them? Can I ask that regardless of where you are, the mall, the grocery store, the gas station, school pickup lines, that you smile at everyone you see? You will never know the impact it will have on someone else day, let alone yours!

Have a beautiful day My Beauties!

2 thoughts on “You Never Know

  1. I love ❤️ your post today!! A great reminder to us all! You are a WONDERFUL example!! I care about YOU! You know that, yes?

    xoxox 💞💕

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

