Dessert · Favorite Recipes

Pumpkin Pie

This is the very first time I have ever made a pumpkin pie. I usually make an Apple Pie every year for Thanksgiving, but this year The Hubs wanted his mom to make apple bars so he suggested I make the pumpkin pie. So I set to town looking up different recipes and ideas on Pinterest and decided to simplify and just use the recipe off the Libby’s Pumpkin can. It was delicious!!

I do have to share with you a little mistake I made that ended up not really being much of a mistake after all. So, I thought I had all the spices that we needed. Come to find out, I didn’t have ground clove. I only had whole clove. *Gasp* I was so frustrated! How could I have missed that?! But then I thought I could just grind it myself. I have done it before with coriander so it should work this time too. So I guessed at how many whole cloves would grind to 1/2 tsp ground and set to work pounding a bagging of whole cloves. As I was mixing everything together, I realized that there were several pieces of clove that weren’t exactly ground. Oops!! I seriously thought about scraping the whole thing and starting over and running to the store. But my mom convinced me it would be just fine. It turned out just fine. At least there weren’t any clove chunks in my piece slice!! 😉

So if you don’t have ground clove… try grinding something yourself! 😉

Ingredients
3/4 cup Sugar
1 tsp ground Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp ground Ginger
1/4 tsp ground Clove
2 Eggs
1 can (15 oz) Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin
1 can (12 fl oz) Evaporated Milk
Pie Crust
Whipped Cream (optional)

Directions
Preheat oven to 425*
Mix together sugar, cinnamon, salt, ginger, and cloves in a small bowl.
Beat eggs in a large bowl and then stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture.
Gradually stir in evaporated milk.
Pour into pie shell.
Bake for 15 minutes, then reduce temperature to 350* and bake for 40-50 minutes or until inserted knife comes out clean.
Cool on wire rack for 2 hours.
Serve immediately or refrigerate.
Top with whipped cream!!

Enjoy!!! ❤

{Source}

Leave a Reply

