Tune In Moments

For The Birds

How many of you have seen the Pixar Short Film ‘For The Birds’? If you haven’t you’ll get to watch it in a minute. If you have, it’s a cute and funny clip right? It has always made me smile and sometimes giggle in the past. But as I was watching the clip with Little Man the other day, I had a tune in moment of sorts. At first I didn’t think the ah-ha moment was worth a blog post, but every time I’ve had the chance to sit still, ponder, and tune in, this clip keeps coming to mind. So here it goes.

Watch the video clip below. Then ponder on the questions to follow:

How often you have felt like the big bird coming into a new neighborhood, ward, church, or any social setting?
How often have you been the little birds gawking at, whispering about, and making fun of the ‘new kid’?

Watch the clip again if you need to and think about those questions.

On more than several occasions I have felt like the big bird who doesn’t fit in but wants to. I’m sure that there have been a few times that I’ve been the little birds as well. But as I’ve felt like I’ve been the big bird more often, those thoughts are fresh in my mind.

I want to start by saying that I love the big birds confidence. Although he ‘trips’ on his way to sit with the little birds, he is happy and doing what he can to fit in. It doesn’t seem to bother him that the little birds are making fun of him. He just plants himself in the middle and starts chirping away. Those of us who have ever felt like the big bird…. Be confident!! The only persons opinion that should matter to you is our Saviors and our Father in Heavens. You are beautiful. You are kind. You are important. You are loved. You are strong. Don’t ever let the little birds ever pull you down or if they do, don’t let them keep you there!

I have been striving to be the kind of little bird who makes room on the wire and welcomes the big birds with a smile. But I do find the natural woman taking over at times. It’s hard for me to sit by people who look alone or sad. But I’m trying. It’s hard not to immediately judge. But I strive to keep those thoughts to myself and push them out of my mind and let the spirit in. Let the spirit guide you to know who feels like the awkward big bird so you can help them fit in.

I’m kicking myself for not being a welcoming little bird at church last week. I had a chance and I didn’t take it. Next week I will be better. Next week, I will strive to be a better little bird! Will you?

 

Leave a Reply

