Spiritual Thoughts

Now Is The Time to Decide

I loved preparing my lesson this week. It brought back memories and allowed me to think back on decisions I have made in my life and how each decision affected the future.

The first decision that I remember having to make was moving with my family to Montana my senior year of high school. I had a friend offer to let me with her so I could finish my senior year and then meet up with my family. I was desperate to stay. But my parents sat me down and told me that they felt we were moving to Montana for me and they wanted me to pray about it and get the same confirmation. I was stunned. But I did. I prayed about it and I felt like I needed to move to Montana with my family. Little did I know at that time, that three years later I would meet my husband!!

But, behold, I say unto you, that you must study it out in your mind; then you must ask me if it be right, and if it is right I will cause that your bosom shall burn within you; therefore, you shall feel that it is right.

But if it be not right you shall have no such feelings, but you shall have a stupor of thought that shall cause you to forget the thing which is wrong; therefore, you cannot write that which is sacred save it be given you from me. — D&C 9:8-9

The next two instances where I had to make decisions were in regards to attending photography school and marrying my husband. The interesting thing, is with moving, I had a good feeling. With school and about marrying my husband, I had silence. Silence until I received my acceptance letter and silence until I said yes when The Hubs proposed. In both of those situations the Lord was trusting me to make a decision.

The Lord doesn’t always answer all of our inquires. He does allow us to act on faith that we are making the right decisions. If we end up choosing wrong, He won’t let us stray too far before sending a warning of some kind.

I love the talk by Robert D. Hales titled To The Aaronic Priesthood: Preparing for the Decade of Decision. He lists 8 things that those who are under 20 should be doing to prepare for decisions that lie ahead. However I believe that this 8 things can apply to anyone. Here they are:

  1. Become a disciple of Jesus Christ, which means accepting His invitation to “come, follow me.”
  2. Organize and prepare ourselves to have the Holy Ghost as our constant companion.
  3. Decide who your friends are and to become worthy of a righteous eternal companion.
  4. Prepare for your mission (or to receive your endowments).
  5. Prepare for training, education, and an occupation.
  6. Obey.
  7. Use our time properly.
  8. Safeguard your birthright.

No matter what stage of life you are in right now, 6 of those can apply to any one of us. Just because I am in my late 20’s doesn’t mean that I don’t have major decisions ahead. I may have a lot of majors decisions behind me, but life is unexpected and things can happen. Using the list above can help us be prepared for whatever may come our way.

Do you remember what your first major decision was? It was certainly a trip down memory lane thinking of all the times that I have knelt in prayer by myself or with The Hubs asking Heavenly Father what we should do or to be guided to where we needed to be, or for peace and comfort as we waiting and had faith that answer would come.

I’d love to hear some of your experiences! But I know you will smile as you reflect!

Have a wonderful sabbath!! ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Now Is The Time to Decide

  1. I love your posts!! You are sooo very right on…and you always give me pause to ponder. You are in my world right now, for a reason! Thanks for being there!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

