Tune In Moments

Tune In Moments

I have had an idea floating around in my head for a while now to start a new series. I had the name, Tune In Tuesday, but I didn’t know what I wanted to do with it or how I wanted to make it work or even what to write. Until now!

As I was struggling with Sweet Pea to get her to sleep, I decided to ponder on it instead of scrolling through Instagram like normal. –It’s also hard to scroll through when she is flopping around and fighting sleep.– So while pondering on the name and what I wanted to write, my mind wandered over to a book I just finished reading and what I wanted to write for the review I’ll be posting. Then it hit me.

The book was seriously amazing and that’s all I’m going to say about it because I don’t want to ruin the review… But, the book challenges you to basically tune into the tender spiritual moments throughout your day. We need to tune in to the still small voice and the little every day tender mercies and promptings and tune out the ever chiming notifications and incessant media options. We need to make the time each day to be still and listen.

As a stay at home mom to two, it’s not going to be an easy task for me. As you go about your busy days I know it’s not going to be easy for you either. But it’s something that we need to do to increase our faith and our connection with our Father in Heaven.

In the April 2015 General Conference, Elder Wilford A. Andersen gave a beautiful talk about being spiritually in tune to the music of the gospel. He said,

First, we must keep our own lives attuned to the correct spiritual frequency. Back in the olden days, before the digital age, we found our favorite radio station by carefully turning the radio dial until it lined up perfectly with the station’s frequency. As we approached the number, we could hear only static. But when we finally made the precise alignment, our favorite music could be heard clearly. In our lives, we have to align with the correct frequency in order to hear the music of the Spirit. (emphasis added)

That is the goal of this series. My goal is to help you find the correct frequency so you too can hear the sweet music the spirit can bring to your heart. How will I do that? Through my experiences, as I strive to find the right frequency for myself.

As I have continued to ponder on the name of the series, Tune In Tuesday just didn’t seem to fit anymore. Our tuning in should not be specific to Tuesday’s only. It should be something that we focus on week by week, day by day, moment by moment. So, Tune In Moments it is.

As you tune in to spirit and a moment in your day becomes more than just an ordinary moment, share it. Share it in your journal, with your spouse, your friends, on your social media accounts. I will be using the hashtag #TuneInMoments on Instagram and would love to see you join in if you feel you want to share! ❤


The first thing that we need to do to be able to tune in, is to tune out the static in our daily lives.

One thing that was causing major static in my life was Facebook. I was spending too much time endlessly scrolling. I was literally waisting time. I would be scrolling through while Sweet Pea was having a bottle and falling asleep and the next thing I’d know, 45 minutes had past! What?! I was not happy. So I deleted the app from my phone. Gone! If I want to get on Facebook I have to get on my computer. I only get on once a day now. Why? To check notifications and that’s it.  I personally no longer like Facebook. I know others love it. So find one thing that is causing major static in your life (a major time waister) and either get rid of it, or dramatically reduce the time you spend on it, with it, doing it.

Little by little, as you clear out the static, you can become more focused on your day and make the time to be still and listen.

Give it a week. Then reflect back on that week and see what you were able to accomplish. Were you more focused? Were you more organized? Were you able to make the time to sit still and listen if only for a few minutes?

Heavenly Father is anxious to communicate with you. Let’s be anxious to tune in and listen! ❤

Leave a Reply

