Dessert · Favorite Recipes · Slow Cooker

Slow Cooker Apple Sauce

I am so in love with Crockpot Apple Sauce and I can’t believe that I waited all this time to make it.

My mother-in-law makes amazing apple sauce and cans it and use to bring us jars every fall. Last year she brought me all that she had left. This year, she decided she wasn’t going to make any so I had to figure it out.

I may have to do a separate post on this, but I bet you didn’t know I tend to avoid cooking/baking something if it sounds too complicated. And apple sauce seemed/sounded too complicated. After coming home from her house with a huge box of apples and I started searching Pinterest for Crockpot Apple Sauce recipes and found several.

There are recipes that use no sugar at all, white sugar, brown sugar, lemon juice, no lemon juice, nutmeg, cinnamon, and it was rather overwhelming all the different options. My mother-in-law uses a little bit of sugar and cooks the apples. That’s it. Soooooo, that’s what I did!

So creamy. So delicious. So going to make more!!!

I have done this with fresh apples and with apples that I froze a few years ago. So I’ll give you directions on both. Feel free to add more sugar or other seasonings like nutmeg and cinnamon post processing to your liking!

Ingredients
Apples
Water
White Sugar to taste

Directions
Fresh
Core, slice, peel apples.
Depending on the size of your crockpot depends on how many apples cook.
In my 3 quart crockpot I did about 6 cups or 5 medium apples.
Add about 1/2-1 cup white sugar and about 1/2 cup water.
Cook for about 2.5 on HIGH.
Stir after 1 hr. Stir again after another 1.5 hrs.
By the end of the 2.5 hrs, the apples should be disintegrated and when stirring, the apples will dissolve into the sauce.
Makes almost 3 cups of apple sauce.
Depending on how thick you like it, you can blend it using an immersion blender, food processor, or regular blender.

Frozen
My frozen bags of apples are about 8-9 cups so I used my 6-7 quart crockpot.
I put in 2.5 bags of frozen apples, added 1 cup sugar, NO WATER.
Cook for about 4 hours on HIGH.
Stir after 1 hr. Stir after 1.5 hrs. Stir after 30 min. Stir after 30 min.
The apples won’t be as disintegrated as if they were fresh.
This version will be a bit chunkier and you may want to blend it up using an immersion blend, food processor, or regular blender.
Makes about 7-8 cups of apple sauce.

**It seems as though fresh apples make more sauce than frozen apples. So if you have the time do it all fresh do it. But now I can make one batch a week to can for storage and don’t have to worry about preparing the apples.

Canning
Wash and sanitize preferred jar size.
Put lids in a pan to boil and then reduce to a simmer until ready to use.
Use a large pot with a rack in the bottom OR use old rings as a rack.
Using a large funnel, poor the apple sauce in the jars.
Clean the rims and outsides of the jars of any apple sauce that spilled.
Place lids and rings on the jars and close tightly.
Put jars in your large pot with a rack and start filling the pot with water.
Add enough water to cover the jars by about 1/2-1 inch.
Bring water a rolling boil. You may need to put a lid on.
Once it’s rolling time it for about 30 min.
Remove jars with canning jar lifter and place on towels to cool.
DO NOT move them for about 24 hrs.
They should be sealed by the end of 24 hrs.

{Source: my brain and my Mother-In-Law’s brain}

Leave a Reply

