Spiritual Thoughts

Being More Christlike

Many years ago, a lesson on being more Christlike would have made me roll my eyes and tune out. Now, I’m craving it. Only problem… I’m an adult and I’m teaching 16-18 year olds! So I can only imagine how they are gonna feel come Sunday school when we talk about Christlike attributes.

My goal though, is to make it less of ‘you need to be more Christlike’ and more of ‘these are attributes we can work on to help us become who we are meant to be.’

Most of my lesson is coming straight out of chapter 6 How Do I Develop Christlike Attributes from Preach My Gospel. We are going to talk about the attributes listed and then take a little quiz at the end that will help each one understand better the attribute(s) they can work on. Here are the list of attributes: (to take the quiz, click on the chapter 6 link and scroll to bottom, then work your way back to the start of the quiz.)

Faith in Jesus Christ
Hope
Charity & Love
Virtue
Knowledge
Patience
Humility
Diligence
Obedience

After taking the quiz myself, I found that I need to work on patience. Who doesn’t right? I have never ever been a patient person. I have had my own timing for things and when they haven’t happened on my timetable I have been upset, frustrated, angry, impatient, and more. It’s kind of embarrassing to admit that. I feel like I have gotten slightly better over the years. But obviously not as much as I thought according to this quiz! 😉

The other three area that I need to work on is diligence. Now of my attributes are perfect… But that would be the second one I would tackle after patience.

In the manual, the section on Patience is very small. But I love the quote they include by President Monson that says,

Life is full of difficulties, some minor and others of a more serious nature. There seems to be an unending supply of challenges for one and all. Our problem is that we often expect instantaneous solutions to such challenges, forgetting that frequently the heavenly virtue of patience is required.

Then the best quote, one that I am forever working on, especially now is:

You must be patient with all people, yourself included, as you work to overcome faults and weaknesses. (emphasis added)

I have felt like an absolute failure the last couple of days. I feel like I have so much going on between lesson preps and getting the Christmas program put together for Sacrament meeting and being mom and wife and all that entails. It sure is a balancing act and this past week I just haven’t been able to find balance.

So I a challenging myself to work on patience more. In fact, I am going to challenge my class to work on the attribute they struggle with the most. We need to work on these attributes to become the best versions of ourselves that Heavenly Father knows we can be. ❤

Leave a Reply

