Fitness Friday

The Secret To Loosing Weight

I have not lost any weight in the last almost 2 months.

I have also not gained any weight either.

The last few weeks I have been trying to figure out why. I am certainly not complaining that I haven’t gained any!! I have been pleasantly surprised actually. And then I got to thinking. I thought I was eating pretty well. You know, listening to my body, guessing at my food measurements, eating when hungry only… Then I decided that I need to input what I was eating for a few days into my favorite app, My Fitness Pal, and see exactly what I was eating.

Oh man!!! I have been sneaking a lot of little things here and there. Eating some of the kids food, snacking on whatever dessert was laying around, and justifying my sweets/carbs as a reward for making it through the day.

I was also justifying the little extras here and there because I want longer and farther each day and was burning extra calories! Guess what?! Those calories add up fast!

Now don’t get mad at me for counting calories. Over the years it is what has worked for me and my body. It helps me see that I’m eating too many carbs and not enough veggies and proteins. It helps me track how much I need/should be eating at each meal. Counting calories doesn’t work for everyone but it works for me.

So the secret to loosing weight?!

Is learning about your body and what works for you!

My body also needs and craves more cardio to actually loose weight when other can just lift weights and not do much cardio.

When I am fully committed to seriously watching what I eat by keeping some sort of food diary (MyFitnessPal app) and doing mostly cardio with some weight lifting. I can really make a dent in my weight loss.

So be patient with yourself as you figure out what your body needs and wants. You will get it soon enough!

 

Leave a Reply

