Breakfast · Favorite Recipes · Rolls

Cinnamon Rolls

I love cinnamon rolls!! However, the time it takes to make them isn’t always the most convenient. Letting the rolls rise for an hour two different times is not so fun and can deter you from making them. I had the plan of making a cinnamon roll recipe that I found on Facebook that should only take an hour but I didn’t have one of the ingredients. It was 2pm when I started looking at what I needed to do for the recipe and why I started prepping so early, I don’t know. But I’m sure glad I did! Since it was so early, I was able to make these and now I have a batch in the freezer waiting for another day! So without further ado, here is the recipe.

This recipe is a basic roll recipe. So everything in ITALICS is what you would do/use for cinnamon rolls!

Ingredients
2 tbsp Yeast
2 cups warm Water
1/3 cup Sugar
1/3 cup Shortening
2 1/2 tsp Salt
2/3 cup Non-Fat Dry Milk
5-6 cups Flour
1 Egg

2 1/2 tbsp melt Butter
Cinnamon
Sugar

Directions
In a small bowl combine warm water and yeast and let sit for about 5 minutes.
In a mixing bowl combine sugar, shortening, salt, milk, 2 cups of flour, egg, and water/yeast mixture.
Beat together until smooth.
Add 1/2 of flour at a time until well-mixed.
Knead dough until satiny.
Let rise for 1 hour or until about three times the size.
Roll out dough so it’s about 1/4″ thick and brush butter all over.
Mix 2/3 part sugar to 1/3 part cinnamon and mix well then sprinkle over butter dough surface.
Roll the dough into into a pinwheel and pinch end to the body to seal.
Cut about 2″ pieces using a sharp knife if unflavored dental floss.
Place on greased pan and cover to rise another hour.
Shape and let rise for another hour.
Cook for 400* for 15-20 minutes.

One thought on “Cinnamon Rolls

Leave a Reply

