Spiritual Thoughts

Cheerfully Do All Things

Last night we had our adult session of Stake Conference and it was A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!! It is probably the best session that I’ve been to. Our area 70 was seriously the best speaker. His name is Elder Scott. (I’ll have to get his first name during the general session later today.) He talked about so much and yet it all connected together in a beautiful way.

Therefore… let us cheerfully do all things that lie in our power.
-Doctrine & Covenants 123:17

Read that to yourself again…….

Isn’t that profound? He said to us that the only way that we can do all things cheerfully if by having faith!! Can I tell you something? I totally agree with that.

If you’ve been reading along for a while now, you know that I was struggling a while back. I was just plan having a hard time with the church (not the gospel) and felt a lone to sad almost all the time. I was not ‘cheerfully doing all things’. Then little by little as I was prompted by the Spirit, I started reading more gospel centered material and then started jumping more into the gospel itself by reading the scriptures. As I started reading the scriptures more, I started to notice a change. A change in myself. And as that change occurred, I started doing more things with a cheerful attitude. I started feeling like that I had more faith. There was less doubt and uncertainty. There was less fear and less anxiety (which is huge for me and may be another story for another time.)

It may sound silly to some because a year ago it would have to me. I would have rolled my eyes at the thought of doing everything with a cheerful attitude. But it seriously does make a difference. When you are filled with faith and you the love of Christ, you can’t help but be cheerful!

The other thing that I want to sharing is kind of cool. I participate in this chat loop on Instagram every Sunday called ShareGoodness Sunday and the question that I picked for this week was ‘What do you do as a family to keep the Sabbath day holy.’ I asked this question because I have wanted to do more with our Sabbath day other then eat, take a nap, and watch football. To me, the day has been feeling kind of empty. So I wanted to hear what others are doing. Little did know that I was kind of inspired to ask the question.

How was I inspired?

Elder Scott talked to us for a few minutes about why the Brethren are stressing the importance of keeping the Sabbath day holy. He allowed those in the congregation to stand and give their thoughts and impressions as to why they feel it has become a big thing. My heart swelled and I had this impression come to my mind and heart that it’s becoming just as important as the need to hold Family Home Evening each week. So I stood and expressed that and felt the Spirit so strongly when I did. Elder Scott expressed to us that the importance is to strengthen our faith. Which in turn, I feel, also strengthens the family unit.

He said that the Brethren aren’t giving lists of things that you can and can’t do on the Sabbath anymore. They are leaving that decision up to us. They are encouraging us to hold family councils and decide as families what we feel will help us increase our faith and help us to keep the Sabbath day holy.

I am excited to sit down with Little Man in probably what will be our first Family Council and make our list of dos and don’ts. I really do want our Sunday’s to be better.

There is more that I want to write about but this post is already long enough. I will have to finish my thoughts another day, or maybe later today. It’s time for me to go get ready for church too.

But think about ‘cheerfully doing all things’ and about ways you can better keep the Sabbath day holy! I would love if you would share with me what you do!! ❤

Leave a Reply

