Spiritual Thoughts

No More Guilty Feelings

Today is going to be a busy day for me. But not nearly as busy as it’s going to be coming up.

Today I am teaching two lessons. Yes you read that right. TWO! I haven’t been released from my calling as a Relief Society teacher yet. So in talking with the the Relief Society President last month, I said that if they didn’t have a teacher I should be able to do it because we had conference which would give me two weeks to prepare both lessons. Sounds easy right? Well, I ended up getting sick so that didn’t happen.

Why did I do this? Simple, because I haven’t been released so it is still my calling and my duty. It was hard and stressful, but I did it.

I spent Monday and Tuesday working on my Relief Society lesson and then thanks to some amazing inspiration from above I was able to start and finish my lesson for my youth Thursday night. It took about an hour and a half but once the inspiration started flowing there was no stoping!

What was really cool, was seeing how both lessons were weaving together. How I was able to pull from my Sunday school lesson two weeks ago to teach the Relief Society lesson today. And how both lessons, though titled different and focusing on different things, both talk about how being Christ and being committed to God is how you bring souls unto him!!

The point of this post though was to share with you one of my favorite conference talks. How does that tie in? Well, as I was preparing my lesson for Sunday school, one of the conference talks from last weekend kept popping into my head. I couldn’t shake it and I couldn’t seem to make the suggestions in the lesson fit, so I ran with it. (That and the Sunday school president and my setting apart blessing said to use the inspiration I receive from praying and studying to be able to teach what needs to be taught).

As I was baking way Saturday morning last week there were two quotes that I heard that stuck in my head and that I haven’t been able to let go. In fact, I wrote a brief blog post about it last week called Missionary Work and shared this image:

img_5080

I found who the speaker was!!! Elder Neil L Andersen is amazing! I love this talk of the very reasons I wrote about last week and that it didn’t make me feel guilty at all for my lack of missionary work. But now I love it anymore because it is helping me teach the youth how we can bring souls unto Christ with out making them feel guilty.

Guilt is like a battery in a gasoline-powered car. It can light up the car, start the engine, and power the headlights, but it will not provide the fuel for the long journey ahead. The battery, by itself, is not sufficient. And neither is guilt.

I suggest that you stop feeling guilty about any insufficiency you think you have in sharing the gospel. Rather, pray, like Alma taught, for opportunities to “stand as [a witness] of God at all times and in all things, and in all places… … This is a much strong motivation than guilt.


I had a really rough experience trying to give a Book of Mormon to a friend of mine when I was younger and it’s made missionary work hard for me. So instead I decided to try and just be a friend first, set the example, and answer questions when asked. That seemed to work but I still felt guilty. Now I don’t thanks to Elder Andersen.

Please don’t see your efforts to share the love of the Savior with another as a pass/fail test with your grade determined by how positively your friends respond to your feelings or invitation to meet the missionaries. With our mortal eyes, we cannot judge the effect of our efforts, nor can we establish the timetable. When you share the love of the Savior with another, your grade is always an A+.

So whether you are grate at inviting your friends to church and giving out Books of Mormon, or you struggle to even share that you are LDS… Know that whatever effort you can put in is perfect in the eyes of the Lord!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

