Fitness Friday

Stop Resisting Change

One reason people resist change is because they focus on what they have to give up, instead of what they have to gain.

So true! So true!! It’s never easy to start something. Especially when it’s out of your comfort zone.

People think I’m crazy for doing no-sweets-challenges. I hear all the time, “I can’t do without my chocolate” or “I need my sugar” or “I could never do that”. I used to say those very things. Honestly, there are days that I’m not sure how I’ll make it through without my dark chocolate. But guess what? I make it every time and I come out that much stronger afterwards. In fact I will be finishing a 4 week no-sweets-challenge on Tuesday. When I came up with the idea I forgot that hunting was starting and The Hubs would be gone most of the first two weeks of September. It’s been rather stressful but guess what? I didn’t give in. Not once. No candy. No chocolate. Nothing. I made it! (There were even skittles sitting on the counter most of that time for a potty training bribe and I didn’t eat any!!)

Doing something out of your comfort zone is scary. But when it comes to fitness, it really is more about what you’re going to gain. Think about it… You will gain confidence, strength, determination, positivity, happiness, healthier eating habits… and so much more! Yes, it is daunting thinking about all of the things that you will have to change or give up. But it’s nothing in comparison to what the outcome will be.

I can speak from personal experience. I accomplished a major goal in the last few months. What is it? Stay tuned for my article next week and I’ll tell ya!!

Leave a Reply

