30 Days of Conference · Spiritual Thoughts

Where Are the Keys and Authority of the Priesthood by Elder Gary E. Stevenson

Day 6: Where Are the Keys and Authority of the Priesthood by Elder Gary E. Stevenson

Yesterday was a whole bunch of crazy and tiredness. I was so out of it that I completely forgot, yes forgot, to do my chores. So today is double chore day and pretty much double everything else. At least my kids were fed and taken care of right?! 😉

I love how Elder Stevenson related the keys of the priesthood to a car. It made so much more sense to me in helping me understand how it all works. I especially loved this quote…

Without [the] restoration, we would be locked out from the vehicle necessary to transport us on our journey home to loving heavenly parents.

It makes you think about the priesthood in a whole different light, huh?

Elder Stevenson gives us three ways that we can se the priesthood keys and authority to bless our lives and those around us. They are:

  1. Prepare to sere a Mission – “the keys of the gathering of Israel, restored by Moses, enable missionary work in our dispensation.
  2. Attend the Temple – “Ordinances performed in these temples enable individuals and families to return to the presence of our heavenly parents.”
  3. Fo Forward with Faith – “To help you become all that the Lord wants you to become, kneel each morning and night in prayer to your Father in Heaven. …Study the scriptures each day and apply what you read to your life….Strive each day to be obedient….In all circumstances, follow the teachings of the prophets….Be humble and willing to listen the Holy Ghost.”

I love this next quote. It’s promised that come through the blessings of Abraham:

As you do these things (continuation from quote in #3), the Lord will make much more out of your life than you can by yourself. He will increase your opportunities, expand your vision ,and strengthen you. He will give you the help you need to meet your trials and challenges. You will gain a stronger testimony and find true joy as you come to know your Father in Heaven and His Son, Jesus Christ, and feel Their love for you.”

My favorite part is the Lord will make much more out of your life than you can by yourself. How many times have we wanted something in our time instead of His? That has so been me most of my life. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve demanded less in my time and tried to relax into His timing and enjoy life where I am. So far, it’s been a more beautiful ride now that I’ve let go a little.

thelordwillmakemuchmore_edited-1

-Right click and save image to downloads-

 

 

Leave a Reply

