30 Days of Conference · Spiritual Thoughts

Trust in That Spirit Which Leadeth to Do Good by President Henry B. Eyring

Day 5: Trust in That Spirit Which Leadeth to Do Good by President Henry B. Eyring

We draw closer to the Savior as we, out of pure love, serve others for Him.

This talk was beautiful, thought provoking, and something that even now, still brings up the same thoughts about the same people I thought about during the session.

Our desire to serve others is magnified by our gratitude for what the Savior has done for us.

I never though of it that way before. For some people, service just comes naturally to them. The Hubs is one of those people. It doesn’t matter what it is, or when it is, or how inconvenient it might be, he jumps. Me on the other hand. I grumble. Well, it have seemed to grumble less and less lately.

Here is just a thought to throw out…. My husband is a convert to the church. I was born and raised in the church. Do you think that someone’s desire to do service comes from their understanding of the atonement or from really knowing of the Savior? I’m not saying all who are born and raise in the church don’t really know the Savior and what the atonement means. But it has taken me years to really start to understand the atonement and all that Christ went through and become more grateful for his selfless act. So it’s just a thought… Something that I think I might ponder more on.

Anyway…. I love the 3 feelings that President Eyring goes over. There are 3 feelings that sisters were most likely going to feel during the session of conference.

  1. The feeling of greatest importance is love.
  2. The influence of the Holy Ghost.
  3. You want to be closer to the Savior.

I can remember having all 3 of those feelings during that session. I can remember the thoughts that popped into my head. I can remember the faces and names of people that popped into my head. I can remember the promptings to send messages to a few of those people, messages of love. I can also remember the desire to draw closer to my Savior really starting to tug on my heart strings.

I also love the 3 things that he says we must commit to do.

  1. To go and serve, knowing that you do not go alone.
  2. Remember the Lord as you go in service for Him.
  3. Be personally modest about your good works.

When giving service you should go about it expecting praise. Serving is done quietly, meekly, humbly. Service because you feel the Saviors love for that person. Not because you want recognition for it.

I don’t have a stand out favorite quotes from this talk, but as you can see there were lots of good points that I have loved both times I have read this talk! ❤

Leave a Reply

