30 Days of Conference · Spiritual Thoughts

30 Day’s of Conference: Day 1 & 2

I want to do something. I’m not sure if this is inspiration or if this is just me wanting to document what I’m learning. This may also be a super lofty goal, but if it’s supposed to happen it will right?

There is an account on Instagram (@30daysofconference) that posts a conference talk a day for the 30 days prior to General Conference to prepare you to hear the words of our leaders. This year… I’m following along. But I want to do more than just read. I want to share with you my thoughts, feelings, and favorite quotes. So since today is day 2, I’ll do a short and sweet version of days 1 & 2 to get us caught up!

Day 1: Tomorrow the Lord Will Do Wonders among You by Elder Jeffrey R. Holland
This talk was one of my favorites. I have now read it twice. It is marked up with so much love for Elder Holland’s words. There is so much good stuff in here that I’m not even sure where to start. I’ll first start with one of my favorite quotes (there are many): Keep loving. Keep trying. Keep trusting. Keep believing. Keep growing. Heaven is cheering you on today, tomorrow, and forever.

Keep_HeavenIsCheering_JRH_edited-1(right click and save to downloads)

This quote can apply to so many people in so many different circumstances. Print out the above printable and keep it in your scriptures or in your wallet or taped to your mirror. Put it somewhere to help you remember that no matter what… keep going because heaven is right by your side!

I love that he talks about how normal it is to struggled after leaving the temple, a great church meeting, or general conference. That it’s hard to hold onto the spiritual high that we feel in spiritual places and return to our daily routines. I have struggled with that many a time. The Hubs doesn’t understand why I seem to crash so hard once I get back to reality, but I think sometimes we are just too stressed out before going that the reality of coming back into reality is just plain hard. Did that makes sense?

I also love how he mentions several times that we can improve. We just have to always be striving! We get credit for trying to do anything in the gospel. He quotes Doctrine & Covenants 46:9 (emphasis added):

Verily I say unto you, [the gifts of God] are given for the benefit of those who love me and keep … my commandments, and [for them] that seeketh so to do.

That’s the key. To try, strive, ‘seeketh so to do’. My next favorite quote is as follows:

… the Lord blesses those who want to improve, who accept the need for commandments and try to keep them, who cherish Christlike virtues and strive to the best of their ability to acquire them.

This quote is very important to me. I have made a change in myself of working towards fellowshipping more and towards everyone around me. Not just the visitors, the converts, or the investigators… but also those who are sitting among us every single Sunday. I want to improve in this goal of mine. I am trying to keep the commandment of loving our neighbors. I am striving to be more Christlike in my daily endeavors.

… God loves us with all of His heart, might, mind, and strength. That love is the foundation stone of eternity, and it should be the foundation stone of our daily life.

Yes. Yes. Yes!!!! I firmly believe and know of the importance of loving and being loved the way that our Heavenly Father loves us. When you really feel of the Lord’s love in heart, you can’t help but want to share it with everyone around you. It’s almost like you’re bursting at the seams to share it. You can’t contain it!

Then I love how he ends with Joshua 3:5, ‘Sanctify yourself, for to morrow the lord will do wonders among you.’ There is nothing more that I can add to that. This talk was simply beautiful and it was a wonderful talk to start with!!

Day 2: He Will Place You on His Shoulders and Carry You Home by President Uchtdorf
‘Just as the Good Shepherd finds His lost sheep, if you will only lift up your heart to the Savior of the world, He will find you.’ 

I have recently found that statement to be true. I have never really been a wayward child or someone who you would consider a ‘lost sheep’. But I have been spiritually distant in a way.

I loved the new take that he took on the parable of the lost sheep. I love the four questions that he asks in regards to the parable (emphasis added).

Is if possible that Jesus’s purpose, first and foremost, was to teach about the work of the Good Shepherd?
Is it possible hat He was testifying of God’s love for His wayward children?
Is it possible that the Savior’s message was that God is fully aware of those who are lost–and that He will find them, that He will reach out to them, and that He will rescue them? 

I really like that perspective of the parable. I really like knowing that God knows me and that he knows what I’m going through. I really like knowing that no matter what happens, he will always be right there when I’m ready for rescuing.

Turn…to me
Come unto me.
Draw near unto me and I will draw near unto you.
This is how we show Him that we want to be rescued.

For a long time I was feeling very alone. Very unnoticed. The first thing that I did to start changing those emotions was turn to Christ. I started to draw near to Him in my studies. I first started reading the Book of Mormon with my son daily. Then I started studying Christ himself. Then I started reading conference talks more consistently. Then I started reading the Book of Mormon on my own as well. Now I’m trekking through 30 days of conference talks in 30 days. As I’ve done more to draw near unto my Savior, I have felt less alone. I have felt more open and involved. I have felt more friendships form. It’s amazing all of the many things that can and do happen when we draw near unto Christ.

I am going to close this post with a few more quotes from Pres. Uchtdorf. He says what I’m feeling and thinking better than I can. (emphasis added)

Over time, you will recognize His hand in your lie. You will feel His love. And the desire to walk in His light and follow His way will grow with every step of faith you take.

…Obedience is a cherished concept of the gospel.

But if our faith does not change the way we live–if our beliefs do no influence our daily decisions–our religion is vain, and our faith, if not dead, is certainly not well and is in danger of eventually flatlining.
Obedience is the lifeblood of faith. It is by obedience that we gather light into our souls.
Maybe obedience is not so much the process of bending, twisting, and pounding our souls into something we are not. Instead it is the process by which we discover that we truly are made of.

…if you will only lift up your heart to the Savior of the world, He will find you.

IfYouWillOnlyLiftUpYourHeart_edited-1

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

