Spiritual Thoughts

Be A Friend

Today I got to go a thank you card. It wasn’t just any old thank you card.

Remember my personal motto? Make The Choice? Do you remember why that is my personal motto? I made it my goal, my mission, to make the choice to be the friend I have always wanted at church. I am making the choice to pick out those who are new, visiting, or look sad and alone and to sit by them and make them feeling like someone does care about them and love them. I am determined to help others feel the way my dear friends helped me to feel in Kalispell. Loved! Valued! Important! That I matter!

Right as we moved back in our ward that we lived in before Kalispell (Frenchtown), I noticed someone sitting by herself in Relief Society. I had played the piano that week and so I had the chance to look around and find someone who needed a friend. My heart was racing, as this is completely out of my comfort zone, but I did it. I sat next to this woman and smiled at her. I didn’t get a chance to introduce myself after Relief Society because she darted out before I could get away from the piano after the closing hymn. So another woman and I cornered her in the hall and asked her name and welcomed her to ward.

I have sat next to her just about every single week this summer. Between Sunday School and Relief Society we’d chat. We started connected. Today is her last Sunday in our ward as she was only been here for the summer while her daughter attended a drama camp. I didn’t get to sit by her today. I was asked to talk to the Young Women and was only in Relief Society long enough to play the piano and hear the end of the lesson. I am sad that I didn’t get to sit by her and I’m kicking myself in the bum for not being better at saying good-byes.

As we parted ways today she handed me an envelope. It was an awkward moment as kids came running in. I opened the card in the car as we were driving home and my heart melted with gratitude for the commitment that I had made to myself and for the love and compassion that my dear friends in Kalispell showed me. The first day I sat by her, she was having a hard day. She was on the verge of tears and I made her feel less alone!

Imagine for a minute what every single ward or branch in the church would be like, if everyone was welcoming, loving, and compassionate.

Imagine what it would look like for a minute if everyone had someone to sit by.

Imagine for a minute, how Heavenly Father would feel seeing his children love each other and look after each other.

Try it one Sunday. Either during Sunday School or Relief Society, take a minute to look around the room for someone who might need a little TLC. Even if you have already parked your bum in a chair, either move or invite them to sit with you. No one likes to sit alone. No one likes to feel alone. No one likes to be alone.

I’m not going to guarantee that you will get a thank you card or even receive acknowledgment. But I can guarantee that you will feel better inside for doing it!!

2 thoughts on “Be A Friend

Leave a Reply

