The Wandering Mind

Where Will You Be In 5 Years

Where will you bet in 5 years?

I love this questions because it can help you visualize some changes that you want to make in your life. I’m always striving to make myself better or my situation better and sometimes it takes time to do that. One thing that The Hubs and I have been working on is getting debt free. Out our age it’s not easy to do. But I strongly believe that there are two different kinds of debt. Acceptable and unacceptable debt.

Reasonable debt for the purchase of an affordable home and perhaps for a few other necessary things is acceptable. But from where I sit, I see in a very vivid way the terrible tragedies of many who have unwisely borrowed for things they really do not need.
-Gordon B Hinckley “I Believe” Ensign Aug. 1992

In the last 8-9 months, we have been able to pay off more than half of our debt including both of our vehicles. It has been a blessing to be able to do that and have a plan to pay off the rest of by Spring 2017!! I feel like so much weight is being lifted off of our shoulders. Most of that debt was paying for things that we didn’t need. But there were times that we had to buy the necessities with our credit cards. That was rough to do. But come Spring 2017, all we will have is 2 mortgages. (Yes that might seem insane, but one of those is an income producing property.)

If there is any one thing that will bring peace and contentment into the human heart, and into the family, it is to live within [one’s] means. And if there is any one thing that is grinding and discouraging and disheartening, it is to have debts and obligations that one cannot meet.
-President Heber J. Grant

I can definitely say that living within one’s means really does bring peace into my heart and into our home. It’s not always easy when there are things that we want but can’t really afford but we are striving to make do. I am looking forward to the time when I can really and truly say that we are ‘unacceptable debt’ free and keep it that way. We may accomplish the goal by next year, but the goals is to stay that way. And for longer than 5 years!

Leave a Reply

