Fitness Friday

Apple Crisp for the Runner

I have decided to reach out to the blogging community and find friends who share my love of fitness in all aspects of life to help me make Fitness Friday even better! In my search I met Jessica, who is a runner like me, and offered to write a post about a healthy dessert that won’t set you back when it comes to your fitness!! I love her idea so much that we are thinking about making it a monthly thing. Who wouldn’t want to learn more about healthy desserts right?!


Hi gang! Jessica here, the girl behind the apron in Max & Rosie’s kitchen. My love of baking stems from watching my grandmother (Maxine) bake for a growing family. I’ve also found, over the years, that the kitchen is the heart of my family; some of my best memories are in the kitchen at the family farm back in Iowa. You can check out my blog, where I keep all my kitchen adventures.

IMG_0294

Besides baking, I love to slip on my tennis shoes and get a couple mile run in. I’ve done a handful of various races from 5ks to half marathons. I hope to start training for a marathon in the near future!

That being said, I know how food can affect the training schedule of a runner. During my training for my first half marathon I tried out the vegan lifestyle. While that first half marathon still holds my PR, I missed meat and dairy in my day to day life. Since then I have actively sought out meals, snacks, and drinks that will nourish my body in the way I need it to, so that I can run my best!

If you are like me, your sweet tooth is not something you can ignore for long. I like to satisfy my cravings with as much natural sweetness as I can, less preservatives mean less setbacks on the training course. Apple Crisp is a crutch for me in during training season. The recipe I use is an altered version of the Apple Crumble recipe by Matt Goulding from the Runner’s World Cookbook. I prefer crisp, crunchy apples – so I substitute the usual baking apple, Granny Smith, with a Fuji Apple. If I have a great run that day, I often top my serving of the crisp with a scoop of ice cream! If you have been looking for a way to satisfy your sweet tooth without compromising your training plan, try this delicious, easy apple crisp.

IMG_1777

Ingredients
2 tbsp Butter, chilled
2 Fuji Apples, peeled and cut into small pieces.
½ c Apple Juice
4 tbsp Brown Sugar
½ tsp Ground Cinnamon
1 c Quick Oats
pinch of Salt

Directions
Preheat oven to 400*F.
In a large mixing bowl, combine apples, apple juice, 2 of the 4 tbsp brown sugar, ¼ of the 1/2 tsp cinnamon.
Pour mixture into a small casserole dish.
In another bowl, combine oats, salt, the other 2 tbsp brown sugar, the other ¼ tsp cinnamon.
Cut butter into small pieces, mixing into the oats.
Continue to mix until the mixture is clumpy.
Spread topping over the apple mixture.
Bake for 25-30 minutes, the topping should turn a golden brown.
Let the dish cool for five minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

