Favorite Recipes · Italian · Slow Cooker

Slow Cooker Spaghetti

I love the idea of cooking spaghetti in the crockpot. I always make a huge mess of the stove. Inevitably the sauce gets too hot and bubbles everywhere. That and it just gets plain hectic around here at dinner time sometimes. I have fallen madly in love with my crockpot and I love how simply it makes the dinner time routine.

There are some adjustments I want to make to this. I feel like the recipe needs more flavor so next time I will use a broth instead of water. I may add meatballs next time too because Little Man was sad that there weren’t any. I may also double the ‘optional sauce ingredients’ as well. I also need to stir the noodles a little bit better before turning on the crockpot. Some of the noodles were perfectly cooked, others got stuck together and burnt on the bottom.

It’s all live and learn right? I will be doing this again so stay tuned for an update!!

Ingredients
1 lb box Spaghetti
1 (24 oz) jar Spaghetti Sauce
4 cups Water or vegetable or beef broth
26 oz (24 count) Frozen Meatballs (opt)

Optional Sauce Ingredients
1 1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning
1 1/2 tsp Minced Garlic
1 1/2 tsp dried Basil (or 2-3 leaves, fresh basil, torn)

Directions
Spray the inside of your crockpot with nonstick cooking spray.
Add in the spaghetti noodles (I had to break mine in half to fit my round crockpot).
Drizzle olive oil over the noodles and ensure they are all coated as best as possible.
Pour in the jarred sauce over the noodles.
Add 4 cups of water (veggie or beef broth), or fill the jar 1 1/2 times.
Stir the spaghetti and sauce to coat the noodles and keep them from stick together.
Add optional sauce ingredients.
Top with frozen meatballs if desired, no need to stir them in.
Cover and cook on low for about 5 hours.

{Source}

 

 

Leave a Reply

