Beef/Elk · Casserole · Favorite Recipes · Mexican

Mexican Casserole

Made you haven’t noticed lately… But I LOVE me some Mexican food. It has been my favorite food since before I was born (yes, just ask my mother)! So I have been loved finding different ways to enjoy my favorite food other than just tacos. This dish did not disappoint!! I’m looking forward to having this dish again!!

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups crushed Tortilla Chips, give or take**
1 lb Ground Beef*
1 cup Salsa*
1 can Chili with Beans
8 oz Sour Cream
1 Tomato, diced
1 can Black Olives
Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Directions
Preheat oven to 350* and grease an 8×8 baking dish.
Spread crushed tortilla chips along the bottom of the dish or save whole chips for later.
Brown the ground beef in a medium skillet.
Drain then mix in the salsa and chili with beans.
Spread beef/chili mixture over the crushed chips or over the bottom of the pan.
Spread sour cream over the meat and top with diced tomatoes, black olives and shredded cheese.
Bake uncovered for 30 minutes, or until bubbly.

* The original recipe called for 1/2 lb of ground beef. I wasn’t paying attention and did a full pound and I don’t think it was too much. It also called for 1 1/2 cups of salsa. I didn’t have enough but don’t think I would change it and add the extra 1/2 cup.

**The chips will be personal opinion. The chips baked in tastes great, even as leftovers. However, if you don’t like soggy chips then I would recommend baking the rest of the dish sans chips on the bottom and then just serve the casserole over a bed of chips.

{Source}

Leave a Reply

