The Wandering Mind

My Proudest Moment

There are several moments in my life that I’m proud of.

  • Like the first time I was able to sleep through the night without The Hubs home. (I was a very dependent person and did not like being alone.)
  • The first time I became a mother.
  • When I finally lost the baby weight from Little Man.
  • When I figured out that I enjoyed cooking.

But the thing that I’m most proud of was having a natural home birth.

Having a natural birth is not for everyone. And certainly have a home birth is not for everyone either. Many friends and family thought we were nuts and crazy. But others thought we were amazing and strong.

No, I was never scared about having a home birth. With prayer I was very confident in our decision. However, I was nervous. I wasn’t nervous that I wouldn’t be able to do it. That would I chicken out and want to do to the hospital. I was nervous that I wasn’t going to be strong enough.

With Little Man, my water broke and contractions started 30 minutes later and were hard and 5-7 minutes apart. In an hour, 2-3 minute apart. He was born 3.5-4 hrs after my water broke.

I have written about Sweet Pea’s story before. My water broke at 1am and had intermittent contractions all day. Labor inducing contractions didn’t start until almost 6pm. During that time I was able to relax at home and hang out with Little Man and just be. I didn’t have to stress about anything. I was in a calm, comforting environment with my two boys by my side.

Having a natural birth wasn’t easy. I second guessed myself a lot. But being in the comfort of my own home, in my own bed, was enough to help me relax between each contraction. It was empowering to feel my body do it’s thing and know what it needed to do. My midwife would ask me what I wanted to do and I would always say I don’t know. Because I didn’t. I was just trying to listen to my body, to see what my body wanted me to do.

The moment I will never forget, is when my body was full on ready to push. It was like a flip was switched. It was time. It was empowering. It was hard, and painful, but empowering nonetheless to feel so connected to my body.

To this day, almost 4 months later, I still can’t believe that I had Sweet Pea naturally and at home.

I can do hard things. I can do anything!!!

Leave a Reply

