Spiritual Thoughts · The Wandering Mind

Ture Greatness

Today’s lesson in Relief Society was about true greatness and it really struck a cord with me. As arrogant and conceited as this may sound, I have wanted to be “great”. I have wanted to be well known and looked up to. But not for worldly reasons. Blame it on the fact that I never had a little sister (although I think my 2 younger brothers look up to me). Blame it on the fact that I like to help and encourage people. Blame it on the fact that I want to make a difference in the world. After this lesson though, I am looking at greatness in a different way.

What is true greatness?

What is it that makes a person great?

True greatness {comes from} the thousands of little deeds and tasks of service and sacrifice that constitute the giving, or loosing, of one’s life for others and for the Lord.

True greatness has nothing to do with the things the world notices. True greatness has everything to do with the daily, mundane, little tasks that may not even be noticeable to those around you.

True greatness is raising good, strong, respectful children. It’s serving your family by maintaining the house. It’s calming a child after a tantrum and helping them understand why they received a consequence. It’s never postponing a prompting. It’s offering to help someone at the grocery store or smiling at people you pass. It’s inviting someone to sit with you who is all alone.

True greatness is never a result of a chance occurrence or a one-time effort or achievement. Greatness requires the development of character. It requires a multitude of correct decisions in everyday choices between good and evil…

If you endure to the end, and if you are valiant in the testimony of Jesus, you will achieve true greatness and will one day live in the presence of our Father in Heaven.

That is the kind of greatness that I want. The kind that will allow me to live in the presence of my Father. I want to be able to stand in front of him and say I tried my best to serve and love His children daily.

May we aim for true greatness and make this world a better place by making the choice to give or loose ourselves in the Lord’s errand! ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Ture Greatness

Leave a Reply

