The Wandering Mind

Book Review: One Day at a Time by Desirae Ogden

Oh.My.Goodness!! I loved One Day at a Time!!

28461830

I started reading the book a few months ago. I didn’t have a lot of down time at the time so it was taking me a while to get through it. A couple of nights a week I’d take a relaxing bubble bath before bed and that’s when I’d read. Then we started moving and I was too exhausted. Now that we are semi settled in our temporary living space, I have been reading every single spare second I could find and finished the book in a few days.

Desirae does an amazing job at sharing her thoughts, feelings, and the desires of her heart through out her journey with breast cancer. I have never really known what it meant to have cancer or what it all entailed. She goes into details using passages from her journal she kept doing her cancer journey. You get a feel for the emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual stressed it placed on her and her family. It was heart break to read but at the same time, so encouraging. No matter how hard things got, she kept fighting. She had made her mind up in the beginning that she would fight, no matter what, so she could stay on this earth for as long as possible and raise her children.

My favorite part about this book is how much she relies on her faith (she is a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints — LDS), prayer, and Heavenly Father to help her through. It’s not every day that you find books that talk about people’s trials through an LDS perspective.

Her theme throughout the book, and especially towards the end is, I can do hard things. I find this book very relatable. I am not going through a cancer trial, not any other major trial in my life right now. But, in my world, I experience hard things too. This particular week has been really trying for me and being able to sit down and read a chapter here and there throughout the day has helped me to realize that I can get through whatever trial I am going through no matter how big or small with the help of the Savior. I just need to turn to him in prayer, and that is exactly what I’ve been doing.

So whether you are going through cancer, you are a survivor, have someone in your life who is going through a cancer journey, or are just looking for a book on how to get through and things, I would recommend this book to anyone.

I am so grateful for Desirae and her desire to share her journey in a book. It’s not easy to share private struggles but she does it very gracefully and humbly, hoping to help out another fellow brother or sister.

You can learn more about Desirae through her blog, www.desiraeogden.com, or follow her on Instagram @desiraeogden!!

Leave a Reply

