Fitness Friday

9 Ways To Destress

Stress is an awful thing. You don’t realize the toll it takes on your body until it’s too late. Stress doesn’t just happen over night. It builds over time. Feelings of being overwhelmed, out of control, lost, disconnected, and tears often are the earliest signs of stress; at least for me. Usually a good cry session, a workout, or a good night’s sleep solves the problem. But that’s not always the case.

Stress can come from work, family, finances, or something that you just don’t have control over. Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m a routine person. I can vary here and there from time to time, but a constant flux in my routine really sends me for a loop. I googled ‘effects of stress on the body’ and looked up images and I found this one.

img5

{Image Source}

I can tell you that over the last few weeks, I have experienced 7-8 of the above side effects of stress. Not all together, thank goodness. The most recent side effect really let me know just how stressed out I am. I am on birth control. So an irregular cycle really shouldn’t happen. Well, it did. So amongst the chaos of moving this weekend and living with my parents while we build our house… I have to find ways to destress.

So here are some ways to de-stress!!!

  1. Exercise: This is one of my favorites. It didn’t used to be, but getting in a good sweat session usually does the trick. Those endorphins are amazing.
  2. Naps: Not everyone can naps and I don’t nap every day anymore like I used to. But when the naps stars align and both kiddos nap at the same time, I try to take advantage of the down time and rest myself.
  3. Reading: There are some who like to escape into a different world and others who like to learn. I used to like to escape but now I’ve been enjoying personal development books and learning. It makes me feel like down time isn’t a waste of time.
  4. Scriptures: When I read my scriptures or conference talks, I can feel my mind heart and body relax. Even listening to them helps to. So if you don’t have the time to sit to read, there ware ways to listen.
  5. Writing: Write in your journal. Type out your thoughts on your computer. Do a brain dump and write out everything that is in your mind. Putting your thoughts down on paper clears up your mind and lets you relax a little.
  6. Listen to music: Whether it’s hard metal, rap, or instrumental, find whatever it is that relaxes you and take a few minutes to close your eyes and breathe.
  7. Going outside: Sometimes you just little fresh air. Whether you can take a brisk 10-15 min walk or just sitting in the sunshine, fresh air can really make a difference and clear your head.
  8. Talk to a friend: Talking to someone can put things into a different perspective than what you have figured out in your head and can help sort out your thoughts and understand better what’s going on.
  9. Unplug: Turn off the TV. Turn off your computer. Turn off your phone. Turn off the modern world and just breathe.
Leave a Reply

