Fitness Friday

Have You Heard Of Intermittent Fasting?

In the last several months I have come across several different kinds of meals plans and I have become overwhelmed with them all. None of the ones that I tried seemed to fit my lifestyle or my eating habits. I either felt like I was eating too much or not enough and was stressing about the frequency and the timeframe and more. It was getting increasingly hard for me to want to keep up with my nutrition. I was turning to sweets more and well, that is the opposite of taking control of your nutrition.

While on a podcast binge one night, I heard about Intermittent Fasting (IF) and got curious. I had never heard of it before so I listened intently and got even more curious. I found a few more podcasts and decided to give it a try.

At the bottom of this blog post there is a link to a beginners guide of intermittent fasting where you can read more about it. What I would like to do is share with you how I’ve implemented it in my life and how it’s been working for me.

Before I started implementing IF, I was attempting to eat every 2-3 hours from the moment I woke up till I went to bed and only small portions that were measured out. That worked for a little bit, until I realized that I didn’t have time to measure everything out. I could have done some meal prep, but I’m really bad at eating leftovers sometimes and I change my mind a lot about what I want to eat. More food would have been wasted if was prepping my meals.

Intermittent Fast is eating only during a specific timeframe the same calories you would normally eat or not eating for a 24 hour timeframe. I chose to select a timeframe to eat during and go from there. I decided to start with an 8 hour window. To determine my window, I figured out when we finish dinner and worked my way backwards. We are usually finished with dinner by 7pm. That would make my window from 11am-7pm. That is a little too late for me to start my window. I’m usually ready to eat by 10 am. So I have a 9 hour window from about 10am-7pm.

During that 9 hour window I make it a conscious effort to eat more fruits and veggies but I’m not super concerned about my portions. I eat when I’m hungry and till I’m satisfied. It’s an easier lifestyle for me. It allows me to get up, workout, and get the kiddos situated and then feed myself. The thing that amazes me about all of this, is that I’m not starving in the morning and I’m not going to bed hungry. When I do take the time to input what I’m eating into the app MyFitnessPal I’m either at or below my caloric goals.

I guess my point is that there are many, many, many different types of meals plans out there and you need to find the one that works for you and your body. Since I have made the switch to IF I’m back on my weekly 1lb loss and I’m loosing some serious inches. I’m happier and I look forward to making the healthier options!

Which meal plan have you found works for you?

{Intermittent Fasting 101 – The Ultimate Beginner’s Guide}

Leave a Reply

