Favorite Recipes · Italian · Slow Cooker

Slow Cooker Backed Ziti

I can’t tell you enough how much I love my crockpot. I wish that I had figured out how to use to sooner. But better late then never right? The crockpot has come in handy with church starting at 1pm and one days when I know dinner time is going to be rough with Sweet Pea. Ahhhh, I just love my crockpot!! ❤

I love it when you can find a favorite recipe that is adapted to the crockpot. We like lasagna and manicotti and ziti is kind of like both. So why not try it right?

This recipe is wonderful. It tasted great! However I made a bit of a mistake or at least I thought I did. As I was typing out the recipe I realized that I missed something when I originally read the recipe. I’ll talk about it below.

Ingredients
2 jar Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce*
1 jar Garlic Pasta Sauce*
1 box uncooked Penne Pasta
150z Ricotta Cheese
2 Eggs
Basil
Parmesan Cheese
Mozzarella Cheese

Directions
Grease the inside of your crockpot.
Rinse the penne in a colder with cold water and set aside.
Combine ricotta, eggs, and basil in a bowl and stir well.
Pour enough pasta sauce in the crockpot to cover the bottom and then add a layer of penne.
Scoop half of the ricotta mixture on the penne then sprinkle on some parmesan and mozzarella.
Add another layer of sauce, then penne, ricotta, and cheeses.
Add the last of the penne and sauce on top and cover.
Cook on HIGH for 3 hours or until noodles are cooked.**
Serve with garlic bread and salad!

*Use any brand of sauce that you prefer.

**The original recipe says cook on high for 3.5-4 hours OR until noodles are cooked. We made this on a Sunday so it would cook while we were at church so I picked the longer time. It was obviously too long for us. The outsides were burnt. So I think 3 hours should be just long enough.

 {Source}
Leave a Reply

