Fitness Friday

Ways To Help Increase Your Weight Loss: Part 2

 Last week we talked about how important it is to drink water, do strength training & cardio, take rest days, switch up our routine, and make a life style change instead of dieting. This week we are going to go over 5 more things that can help. These are things that I have learned in my experience and the experience of my friends as well. These aren’t quick fixes, but things that will help over time! Just be patient!!

  1. Do not skip meals. I know there are some people out there (like my brother) who just couldn’t eat breakfast. If he did, he would get nauseas. If that is you, try something small. Drink a small protein yogurt, eat a piece of toast with peanut butter. Eat something. Skipping meals makes your body go into starvation mode and store fat. It also makes you ravenous, so by the time you do eat, you are shoveling food into your mouth and can’t stop. So do yourself a favor and eat something.
  2. Daily activities do not count as exercise. Nice try!! Things that you do on a daily basis are not strenuous enough to bring your heart rate up and make you really sweat and burn calories. You need to add to your daily routine. You need to aim for at least 30 minutes of exercise daily to really start seeing a difference. Make it something with high intensity intervals!!
  3. You can overeat on healthy foods. Just because you are eating more fruits and veggies, it doesn’t meant that you can eat them until the cows come home. You can still gain weight as fruits and veggies have calories too. What you want to do is eat in moderation and listen to your body. Portion control is so important even when eating clean. So just be careful.
  4. Don’t exercise on an empty stomach. Now I’m not saying this has to be. I have some friends that if they eat before or drink anything during their workout they will throw up. So, learn what your body can and can’t handle. I for one can’t eat a normal breakfast before working out. I drink a small protein yogurt shake and I have to drink water during my workout. I would recommend trying to get something in your stomach as you need those calories to help you to have enough energy to workout! But again, listen to your body!
  5. Get enough sleep. Right now for me, I will not be getting enough sleep for a while. I have an 11 week old! Enough said! 🙂 Some people need 6 hours and some need 10. I have found that I need to go to bed around 10pm and I can get up 6am. That’s about 8 hours of sleep. Find the time frame that works best for you and make it a daily habit. That means no ‘sleeping in’ on the weekends as this can mess with the whole program. Every heard of the phrase, “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise”? Well, it’s right! Try it!

I am by no means an expert. Like I said last week, these are things that I have learned over the years and have learned from my friends. Try these things and see what works for your body. These can help you fix the plateau, however they are not a guarantee. Try them out and let me know what you think!!

Leave a Reply

