Favorite Recipes · Mexican · Rice

Spanish Rice

My favorite place to eat lunch is Taco Del Sol and I’m trying hard to find recipes so that I can make my Veggie Burrito Bowl at home and not spend so much money all the time. So I thought I’d start with the rice. I found this Spanish Rice Recipe and I was amazed at how easy it was! Reading through it was a bit intimidated and I was afraid that my rice would end up crunchy or sticky but it was perfect! The only thing we will do next time, is probably double the seasonings. We didn’t think there was much flavor but still, I’m impressed with how perfect the rice turned out!!

My attempted at making my burrito bowl… Didn’t quite taste the same, but it was the first time trying!

Ingredients
1 cup Raw Regular White Rice
4 oz of Tomato Sauce
1/2 tsp ground Cumin
1 tsp Garlic Salt
1/2 tsp ground Oregano
2 cups Water
1/8 cup finely chopped Onion
1/8 cup Cooking Oil

Directions
Place cooking oil in a pan with RAW RICE and use medium heat to brown the rice.
Add the onion and make sure all the the rice and onion are coated with oil.
When rice turns white, add the 4oz of tomato sauce and stir till sizzling.
Once sizzling, add the 2 cups of water and all the spices and stir until well mixed.
When rice is bubbling, lower the hear to a simmer, cover and DO NOT LIFT THE LID for 15 minutes.
After 15 minutes, turn off heat and let sit for 5 minutes.
Remove the lid and stir, turning rice from bottom to top and rice is ready to eat!!

{{Tips from the recipe: Rice should be DRY… not sticky (too much water) or gummy (someone lifted the lid), not too bright red (more than 4oz of tomato sauce) or almost white (not enough tomato sauce) and there should not be any brown onions or brown rice (it was browned too long.)}}

Leave a Reply

