Fitness Friday

Barre Workouts

What is a Barre Workout?

When you ask Google, here is the definition….

Barre fitness classes are simply ballet-inspired, incorporating a ballet barre and maybe some plies and pirouettes here and there into the workout. Essentially, barre classes mix elements of Pilates, dance, yoga and functional training, and the moves are choreographed to motivating music.

I can’t exactly remember how I cam across barre. It was a year or so ago that I found some videos while searching YouTube for workout, but I have fallen love. When I’m feeling for,e tight or just don’t want to do anything else I’ve been turning to my two favorite Barre videos to help release that muscle soreness.

This week I will be 7 weeks postpartum. I’ve been power walking on the treadmill for the last 3 weeks and I’m just getting bored with it. So I decided to start easing myself into other workouts and I felt like this video was the perfect way to do that. It doesn’t do a lot of focused core, but Pilates, yoga and ballet all require some amount of core use in the moves. I was ‘glistening’ by the end of round one, so I did it again, and was sweating by the end of round two. It’s a quick 10 minute workout and you will feel amazing when it’s over!!

 

Leave a Reply

