Fitness Friday

{Fitness Friday} Lent

What does Lent have to do with fitness?

That’s a good question.

Lent is typically used to ‘give up’ or to ‘fast from’ something. You could also add something to your life for that time.

So here is how Lent fits in!

Use Lent to give up something that is ruining your nutrition. Like sweets, fast food, or soda. Or, you could use Lent to add to your nutrition. Like eating more fruits and veggies, drinking more water, or sticking to smaller portions. You could also use this to work on your fitness. If you haven’t started a routine, start walking for 10-15 minutes a day. You could do a lower or upper body challenge or find 10-30 minute workouts on youtube.

In the past I’ve given up soda, sweets and junk food. I’ve also tried adding to my life by reading my scriptures, reading personal development books, and trying to serve people more.

This year, with my fitness goals that I have and not being released to workout yet, I’ve decided to give up sweets. I’m not a huge sweets person, but when it’s in view, I just can’t seem to help myself. So I’ve moved almost all my sweets to the garage – out of sight out of mind – and I’m determined to make it through 100%. During Lent, I have Valentine’s Day, a post-baby baby-shower, the blessing of Sweet Pea, my birthday and that just takes us to the beginning of March. It will be hard but I have some friends already who are willing to help keep my accountable.

So if you haven’t decided what you want to give up or start doing during Lent, think about trying something that will help your body feel better. Find an accountability partner and rock your Lent goals. Your body will thank you by the time Easter arrives!

 

Leave a Reply

