Fitness Friday

{Fitness Friday} Nutrition

So life got away with me and instead of getting my first post out last Friday, it’s coming to you today.

Nutrition is the first step to being fit!!

I WILL NEVER USE THE WORD SKINNY!! The goal is not to get skinny, but to get fit. Getting fit is different for everyone.

A friend of mine calls it happy healthy. The goal is to get to where you feel good. The number on the scale shouldn’t matter. I know that it’s hard for it not too, I struggle with that, but it shouldn’t define your fitness goals.

So back to nutrition…. Nutrition is 80% of the battle and exercise is only 20%. You can’t out work bad eating habits.

The goal should be to eat clean or cleaner than you are. Not everyone can or wants to eat 100% clean. I struggle. I have my favorites that I can’t live with out so I do more of an 80/20 approach when it comes to clean eating.

As you’re seen with my Wednesday Weekly Meal posts, I have found recipes for a lot of my take-out favorites and have made them at home instead of going out. This way I know exactly what is going into my body. I have also added a salad to just about any meal. Currently that is my favorite way to eat veggies.

The other aspect of nutrition is portion size. You can eat cleaner and still over do your portions and have nothing change. So in addition to eating clean(er) you need to watch how much you are taking. This is another aspect I have struggled with in the past. I have gotten better at it, but sometimes, I’ll ask The Hubs to serve me instead as he is better at serving me less. Ever hear of the phrase ‘were your eyes bigger than your stomach?’ Yeah……

So over the next few weeks, nutrition is my focus. I’ll be eating smaller meals throughout the day, smaller portions, and more fruits and veggies!!

I have heard two things and I want to share them with you….
1. If it has a commercial, you probably shouldn’t eat it. (candy, soda etc)
2. If it doesn’t mold/go bad, it’s probably not good for you.

Keep those in mind and lets work on getting fit together!!

Leave a Reply

