The Wandering Mind

Sweet Pea’s Birth Story

12525157_1735906066621135_4718031927388861563_o

My midwife left me be and let me do whatever it was that felt comfortable. I did most of my laboring in bed on my left side (which the hospital wouldn’t let me do with Little Man), and I did a good amount of laboring in the bathroom too. (I tell ya, for some reason sitting on the toilet felt good! haha!!) They let me try different positions to see what felt best and it was amazing to feel how my body responded and reacted to each position. She would suggest a few different things here and there but otherwise she let me lead.

I will never forget what it felt like, and how awesome it was, to be the one calling the shots and to be able to tell my midwife she was coming and crowning and not the other way around. It was amazing feeling my body take over! There are no words to describe it. It was simply beautiful.

A home birth and a natural birth isn’t for everyone.

We prayed about it for a while. We felt right about it. After having that Priesthood Blessing, I knew for sure that we were doing it right. That we were supposed to have Sweet Pea at home.

Sweet Pea was the smallest American baby my midwife has delivered at 4lbs 12oz.

As I’m sitting here typing this, I can only image how different the situation would have been if we had had her at the hospital. Even now, I still strongly believe that having her at home was the best decision.

She has gained weight so fast and her pediatrician and my midwife are impressed with her growth. She is beautiful and precious and we are so grateful to have her in our family.

In a few more weeks I will be released to start working out again and I’m counting down the days. Starting tomorrow I will have a Fitness Friday post where I will share with you my ups and downs, struggles and triumphs as I work my way back to fit! If you are on Instagram or Facebook, look me up at The Stoker Kitchen and you can follow along with me daily as well.

{{If you have any questions regarding a home birth, natural birth, or what it’s like to have a midwife vs an OB, feel free to ask. I would love to answer any questions.}}

Leave a Reply

